08 Aug 2022

Offaly students pick up UCD agriculture awards

Offaly well represented on the awards front

On November 16, 2017 the UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science celebrated the annual student prize giving awards ceremony. The event took place in the UCD O'Brien Centre for Science and was attended by student and graduate prize winners, invited guests, award sponsors, industry stakeholders and university staff.

Offaly had two winners on the night with Rhode's Nicole McPadden, Stage 4 BAgrSc Food and Agribusiness Management student, picking up a PWE Excellence Certificate from Dr Aoife Osborne, FBD Lecturer in Health & Safety, and Tullamore's Aisling Molloy, MAgrSc Agricultural Innovation Support student, winning the inaugural Teagasc Denis Minogue Memorial Award.

In 2017, the Teagasc Denis Minogue Memorial Award was introduced to reward the postgraduate student who delivers the most innovative project as part of their examination of Irish farming and advisory service practices.

Guest speaker Mr John Horgan, MD, Kepak and 2016 UCD Agriculture Alumni Award winner, addressed the attendees, offering his congratulations to the award winners and wished them well with their current studies and future career plans.

A total of 37 students and recent graduates received prizes based on the 2016/17 academic session. A number of the awards are sponsored by industry including The Fertilizer Association of Ireland; the Agricultural Economics Society in Ireland; the Agricultural Trust; Grant Thornton and the Institute of Biology of Ireland.

A number of new awards were established in 2017 including the AIB Best in Class Award; the Danone Nutricia Early Life Nutrition Human Nutrition Medal; the Glanbia Human Nutrition Medal, the Kerry Human Nutrition Medal; the Nutricia Human Nutrition Medal; the Grant Thornton Awards in Financial Planning and Control; the FBD Trust Health and Safety Awards and the Carbery Human Nutrition Medal.

Additionally a number of scholarships are awarded by the School to commemorate the life and work of UCD staff, graduates and students who have sadly passed. These include the Ian Gordon Award, the Hussey Prize in Agribusiness, the Paul Mulhere Award, the Patrick Dempsey Memorial Prize, the Patrick Hogan Memorial Scholarship, the Paddy O'Keeffe Dairy Business Project Award and Colm O’Loghlen PWE Excellence Awards.

Lastly the PWE Excellence Awards also recognise a number of outstanding students who have excelled in their Stage 3 Professional Work Experience placement.

If you have a story for us, sports news, an event happening in your area, or if you want to submit pictures or videos, contact the Offaly Express team via email to, or through our Facebook.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.