Flanagan names unchanged Offaly team for crucial home clash with Louth

Offaly's Niall McNamee to talk about tackling adversity through sport during Laois Connects

Offaly will be hoping to follow up on their recent win over Antrim

Offaly manager Pat Flanagan has named an unchanged team for his side's clash with Louth in O'Connor Par, Tullamore, at 2pm on Sunday afternoon. Flanagan keeps faith with the team that routed Antrim two weeks ago, when they defeated the Ulster side by 13 points in Tullamore.

This game is the third round of the Allianz Football League (Division 3) and Offaly go into the clash in second place after their win the last day gave them a favourable points difference over most of their rivals.

The likes of Brian Darby keeps his place at corner back with Eoin Rigney maintaining his centre back berth and Peter Cunningham continuing at centre forward. 

Conor McNamee partners Eoin Carroll in midfield while Offaly will be hoping for scores from the inside line of Ruairi McNamee, Nigel Dunne and Bernard Allen.

Earlier this week, the bookies made Offaly the 5/6 favourites for tomorrow's clash with Louth despite the fact that Louth enter the contest in Tullamore as the only team in the Division with a 100% start to the fiercely competitive campaign. They are offered at odds of 5/4 to beat Pat Flanagan's charges.

Offaly started their bid for Division 3 promotion with a five-point defeat to close rivals Longford on February 5, while on February 12, Louth held off the Longford challenge by a point. Louth had begun their league campaign with a resounding 2-16 to 0-09 win over Laois on February 4.

Offaly managed to recover after their opening day defeat to record a 13-point victory over Division 3 whipping boys, Antrim. Despite Louth's good form, Boylesports have taken the view that in an ultra-competitive Division, home advantage on Sunday might just be enough to get the Faithful men over the line.

The team in full is:

1 Ken Garry - Rhode
2 Brian Darby - Rhode
3 James Lawlor - Raheen
4 Sean Pender - Edenderry (Capt)
5 Declan Hogan - Tullamore
6 Eoin Rigney - Rhode
7 David Hanlon - Edenderry
8 Eoin Carroll - Cappincur
9 Conor McNamee - Rhode
10 Graham Guilfoyle - Clara
11 Peter Cunningham - Bracknagh
12 Michael Brazil - Tullamore
13 Ruairi McNamee - Rhode
14 Nigel Dunne - Shamrocks
15 Bernard Allen - Tubber

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.