10 Aug 2022

Offaly woman named to start for Ireland in Six Nations clash with Scotland

Michelle Claffey also makes the bench

Offaly's Ailsa Hughes has been named at scrum-half for the Irish women's rugby team to play Scotland in the Six Nations in Donnybrook on Sunday at 1pm.

Head coach Adam Griggs has made two personnel changes for the game but Hughes keeps her place after strong performances in the wins over Italy and Wales, while fellow Offaly woman Michelle Claffey has once again been named on the bench.

Ailsa is also nominated for the Offaly Sports Star of the Month award for those performances against Wales and Italy and you can vote for her or the other nine candidates using the link below.

SEE ALSO: VOTE: Choose your Offaly Sports Star of the Month for February 2018

Hannah Tyrrell, who picked up a try off the subs bench in the 35-12 bonus point win over Wales, is named to start on the left wing, while up front, Cliodhna Moloney resumes at hooker with Ciara O'Connor making way.

Moloney's Railway Union club-mate Aoife McDermott retains her place in the second row after an impressive debut last time out. She stepped in for the ill Nichola Fryday and made a huge impact in a dominating showing

Speaking ahead of the round 4 clash with Scotland, Adam Griggs said: "We came away with a good win against Wales and there are some huge positives to come out of that. We are in a good place going into the final two games."

"I've no doubt Scotland will be looking to push us hard on Sunday afternoon. If we replicate our last performance, get the small things right, I am confident we will have a successful outcome."

Tickets for the Ireland Women's home matches at Donnybrook are available via

Ireland women's team & replacements (v Scotland Women, 2018 Womens Six Nations Championship, Donnybrook, Sunday, March 11, kick-off 1pm):

15. Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
14. Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
10. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)
3. Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's/Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's/Leinster)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.