Search our Archive


2017 Offaly GAA Players of the Year announced

Big night for Ballinamere who pick up three awards

2017 Offaly GAA Players of the Year announced

Senior Footballer of the Year Brian Darby and Senior Hurler of the Year Dan Currams

Ballinamere have scooped three awards in the 2017 Offaly Player of the Year Awards which were announced yesterday. 

The club will take home the Intermediate, Junior A and Minor Hurling Awards at the presentation night in the Bridge House Hotel on January 12.

Paddy Murphy was named as the Intermediate Hurler of the Year, Danny O'Brien the Junior A Hurler of the Year and Brian Duignan the Minor Hurler of the Year. 

Kilcormac/Killoughey's Dan Currams was named the Senior Hurler of the Year with St Brendan's Conor Freeman picking up the U-21 Hurling award. St Rynagh's Siobhan Flannery was named the 2017 Camogie Player of the Year

On the football side, Rhode's Brian Darby will pick up the Senior Footballer of the Year Award with Shamrocks Nigel Dunne picking up the Senior B Footballer of the Year Award. 

Erin Rovers' Nathan Poland was named as the Intermediate Footballer of the Year with Ballycommon's Karl Dunne being named the Junior A Footballer of the Year. Ferbane's Cian Johnson is the 2017 Minor Footballer of the Year and Naomh Ciaran's Ellee McEvoy was chosen as the Ladies Footballer of the Year.

Hurling Referee of the Year is Birr's Richie Fitzsimons while the Football Referee of the Year is Ger Keyes from Shamrocks.

Fahy's David Hope is the 2017 Handballer of the Year

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE: Two All Ireland and All Stars winners to enter Offaly GAA Hall of Fame


Senior: Dan Currams (Kilcormac/Killoughey)

Intermediate: Paddy Murphy (Ballinamere)

Junior Hurling: Danny O’Brien (Ballinamere)

U21 Hurling: Conor Freeman (Carrig & Riverstown & St Brendan’s)

Minor Hurling: Brian Duignan (Ballinamere/Durrow)

Camogie: Siobhan Flannery (St Rynagh’s)

Referee: Richie Fitzsimons (Birr)


Senior: Brian Darby (Rhode)

Senior B: Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)

Intermediate: Nathan Poland (Erin Rovers)

Junior: Karl Dunne (Ballycommon)

U21 Football: Colin Kenny (Ferbane)

Minor Football: Cian Johnson (Ferbane)

Ladies Football: Ellee McEvoy (Naomh Ciarán)

Referee: Ger Keyes (Shamrocks)

Handball: David Hope (Fahy)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.