26 Sept 2022

Offaly stars shine for DCU in Sigerson Cup win over Maynooth

Holders have too much power for Davy Burke's boys

Offaly stars shine for DCU in Sigerson Cup win over Maynooth

Jack Bryant in action for the Offaly U20s last year

Three young Offaly players hit the ground running in this year's Sigerson Cup as their college, DCU, brushed aside the challenge of Maynooth in the opening round.

The holders proved far too strong for Maynooth University on Tuesday night with Offaly's Bill Carroll, Shane Tierney and U20 All-Ireland final goal hero Jack Bryant lining out for their Dublin opponents.

Tierney and Bryant nabbed a brace of points each to help their team to victory.

DCU were in control from the word go, led 0-9 to 0-4 at half time, on a bitterly cold night.

The second half did now show much improvement for Davy Burke's Maynooth and two goals from Robert Finnerty and Joseph Hagan saw the title holders get up and running in impressive fashion.

For Maynooth, Clane's Shane O'Sullivan, among a number of Kildare players on the Maynooth side, was the stand-out player with four points (3 frees).

Maynooth did get a goal of their own late on through Dan Lynham but it was too little too late for the Kildare side.

DCU: David O’Hanlon; Daniel Corcoran, Shea Ryan, Mark Curran; Sean Fitzgerald,
Shane Walsh 0-2, Luke Towey 0-1; Liam Coleman, Red Og Murphy 0-1; Bill Carroll,
Robert Finnerty 1-3, 1f, Paraic Hughes; Karl Lynch Bissett, Jack Bryant 0-2, Shane
Tierney 0-2, 1f. Subs: Mark Barry 0-3 for Finnerty (42), Joseph Hagan 1-2 for
Tierney (42), Matthew Costello for Coleman (46), Conor Ryan for Carroll (52), Ross
O’Mearlaigh for Corcoran (57).

Maynooth University: Cian Burke; Colm Hartnett, Kieran Doran, Keith Murphy;
Jamie Coffey, Colin Walsh 0-2, Kieran Dwyer; Darragh Lyons 0-1, Darragh
Warnock; Paddy McDermott, Diarmuid Egan, Colum Feeney 0-1; Conor Chawke,
Shane O’Sullivan 0-4, 3f, Jack Darcy. Subs: Sam McCormack for Feeney (HT), Dan
Lynham 1-0 for Coffey (HT), Eoghan Mulhall 0-1 for Darcy (39 inj), Ciaran Burns
for Dwyer (46), Conor Kehoe for Chawke (48).

Referee: Brendan Hickey (Kildare)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.