Offaly man starts for Leinster in Pro14 clash tonight

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly man starts for Leinster in Pro14 clash tonight

Offaly man starts for Leinster in Pro14 clash tonight

Offaly man Peter Dooley will be in the starting line-up as Leinster take on the Toyota Cheetahs on Friday evening, March 1, in the Guinness PRO14.

The game has a 7.35pm at the RDS and will be aired live on eir Sport television.

Head coach Leo Cullen has made a number of changes, including Birr man Dooley who comes into the team at loosehead prop for his 59th Leinster cap.

Dave Kearney comes in at full back, with Adam Byrne also in on the right wing for his 50th cap. With Byrne onto the right wing, Fergus McFadden swaps across to the left for his own milestone and his 175th appearance in blue.

In the centre, Conor O’Brien moves inside to 12 with Rory O’Loughlin coming into the number 13 jersey beside him.

In the halfbacks, Jamison Gibson-Park starts with Ross Byrne again selected at out-half.

Dooley will be joined in an all-new front row by Bryan Byrne and Michael Bent. Ross Molony again starts but is joined this week by Scott Fardy in the second row.

In the back row Rhys Ruddock has returned to full fitness from a hamstring injury to take his place as captain at blindside, with Max Deegan and Caelan Doris again completing the pack.

On the bench Mick Kearney has recovered from the shoulder knock he picked up last week to take his place in the matchday 23.

Leinster Rugby team vs Cheetahs (caps in brackets):

15. Dave Kearney (131)
14. Adam Byrne (49)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (57)
12. Conor O’Brien (14)
11. Fergus McFadden (174)
10. Ross Byrne (64)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (67)
1: Peter Dooley (58)
2: Bryan Byrne (36)
3: Michael Bent (117)
4: Ross Molony (80)
5: Scott Fardy (37)
6: Rhys Ruddock (155) CAPTAIN
7: Max Deegan (37)
8: Caelan Doris (11)


16: James Tracy (86)
17: Ed Byrne (37)
18: Andrew Porter (47)
19: Mick Kearney (47)
20: Josh Murphy (17)
21: Hugh O’Sullivan (10)
22: Noel Reid (116)
23: Barry Daly (32)