04 Dec 2021

Two changes to Offaly team named to face Tipperary in League quarter-final

editorial image

Kevin Ryan has named his Offaly Senior hurling team to play Tipperary in Sunday’s Allianz National Hurling League Division 1 Quarter-Final at O’Connor Park on Sunday at 4pm.

It sees two changes from the side which defeated Kerry last weekend, while reuglar talismen Shane Dooley and Sean Ryan retain their places. Dooley is named at centre-forward and his influence will be crucial to Offaly's resistance to the All-Ireland champions.

SEE ALSO: TWEETS: Offaly the butt of the jokes as they somehow set up league quarter-final clash with Tipperary

Enda Grogan comes in at corner back for his first full start in place of Ben Conneely, while Paddy Murphy, who came on against Kerry, returns after injury to take his place in the half-forward line, with Peter Geraghty losing out.

Offaly will be up against it against the likes of Seamus Callinan and the full-back line of Paddy Rigney, Michael Cleary and Enda Grogan will have to produce their finest display in recent memory to thwart the Premier goal threat.

SEE ALSO: HURLER ON THE DITCH: Offaly do deserve to be in league quarter-final because them's the rules

The team in full is:

1. James Dempsey - Kinnitty
2. Paddy Rigney - Kinnitty
3. Michael Cleary - Shinrone
4. Enda Grogan - Kilcormac/Killoughey
5. David King - Coolderry
6. Dermot Shortt - St Rynagh’s
7. Sean Gardiner - Lusmagh
8. Aidan Treacy - St Rynagh’s
9. Sean Ryan (Capt) - Birr
10. Paddy Murphy - Ballinamere
11. Shane Dooley - Tullamore
12. Oisín Kelly - Belmont
13. Sean Cleary - Shinrone
14. Cillian Kiely - Kilcormac/Killoughey
15. Emmett Nolan - Birr

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.