Tullamore Cycling & Touring Club Report (May 15)







A lively crew of 12 TCTC members & partners travelled to Mallorca last week to take on the mighty Serra de Tramuntana mountain range. Based out of Alcudia, the riders took on the Sa Calobra and Cap de Formentor. There was a great representation from the different groups in TCTC but each day they cycled as a team, not leaving anyone behind. Well done to all cyclists with some clocking up over 552km &a reaching 7,110m during the 6 days on the island. A special mention to Colin and Jenny who completed all the climbs on the tandem. By the end of their trip, they had cycled 404km with an unbelievable 4,000m of climbing! A super achievement by both cyclists. Well done to all; Ronan Spollen, Dermot Keyes, Aidan McNamara, Martin Dooley, Colin Quinn, Billy Colton, Jason Twomey, Eamon Lee, Malachy Mangan, Jenny Healion, Mary and Greg Mahon


The 3rd round of the Buckleys Cycles Midland Interclub League took place at Mount Temple last Thursday. The 13.3km looped hilly course wasn’t for the faint hearted. This didn’t dampen the winning spirits of Tullamore.

In the A/B race TCTC had a strong finish with Bradley Turner 2nd, Gordon Boland 3rd and Szymon Kowalski in 5th. In the C race, Morgan Byrne made a break after 4km in the first lap and powered home 2and half minutes ahead of the bunch. Teammate Paul Reape was 2nd and James Corcoran 4th.

Martin Dooley took the victory again the D race with Adrian Lynch 2nd, Lar Tierney 3rd and Adrian Martin 4th. Well done to all racers on what was a tough course. Thanks to Shannonside Cycling Club, the marshalls and supporters on the night.


The Irish Veterans racing continued in Kilcullen last Sunday. Congratulations to Vinny Wyer on finishing the bunch sprint in 8th place followed closely by teammate Tom Fox. Well done also to Richard Wyman and Eddie Scully who represented TCTC. Best of luck to the vets racing on Tuesday in Summerhill.

Ballinasloe Sportif

Ballinasloe Cycling Club hosted their annual sportif last Sunday. Well done to Michael McConigley, Mick Regan, Aidan McNamara and JJ Colgan who all completed the 100km route.