23 Jan 2022

Offaly hurlers hit for six by rampant Galway

Offaly Hurling

Allianz Hurling League Division 1B

Offaly 1-12
Galway 6-23

Galway struck for six goals as they handed a 26 defeat in the first round of the Allianz Hurling League in Tullamore on Sunday afternoon.

Galway struck for four of those goals in the first-half to build a 4-9 to 1-8 lead. The Tribesmen completely took over in the second-half restricting Offaly to just four points while adding 2-14 of their own.

Galway started as they meant to go on with an early goal from Jason Flynn and by the 10th minute they were already 1-3 to 0-1 ahead.

Offaly responded with points from captain Sean Ryan, Cillian Kiely and Shane Dooley to get back within two points but Galway struck for their second goal through Conor Whelan just after the quarter-hour mark.

However Offaly hit back swiftly with a goal from Sean Cleary to keep in contention. Unfortunately for the home side, Galway were able to keep them at bay and Jason Flynn struck for his second and Galway's third goal with 22 minutes on the clock to put the visitors 3-5 to 1-4 ahead.

The gap remained constant towards half-time with both sides adding points but it grew significantly before the break with Galway striking for a fourth goal, this time from David Burke.

The sides exchanged points for the opening ten minutes of the second-half but Galway eventually began to pull further away with Conor Whelan striking for their fifth goal after 50 minutes.

That left the score at 5-14 to 1-10 and while Shane Dooley responded with a point, Galway soon struck for a sixth goal with Brian Molloy rattling the back of the Offaly net.

From there to the finish, it was one way traffic with Offaly just one further point through Shane Dooley while Galway added another nine to their impressive total.

Offaly must dust themselves down quickly as they travel to face neighbours Laois in a crucial game next Saturday evening in O'Moore Park.


Scorers: Shane Dooley 0-8f, Sean Cleary 1-1, Cillian Kiely 0-2, Sean Ryan 0-1.

Team: James Dempsey; Paddy Rigney, Michael Cleary, Danny Maloney; Aidan Treacy, Conor Doughan, Ben Conneely; Paddy Murphy, Cillian Kiely; Shane Dooley, Sean Gardiner, Emmett Nolan; Sean Ryan, Oisin Kelly, Sean Cleary. Subs: Pat Camon for Maloney (36mins), Dermot Shortt for Rigney (36mins), James Mulrooney for Nolan (36mins), Peter Geraghty for Kelly (54mins), Tom Carroll for Cleary (59mins).


Scorers: J Flynn 2-10 (0-8f), C Whelan 2-0, C Cooney 0-6 (0-1f), D Burke 1-1, B Molloy 1-0, J Cooney 0-3, A Tuohy 0-1, N Burke 0-1, J Coen 0-1.

Team: Colm Callanan; Matthew Donohoe; John Hanbury, Paul Killeen; Aidan Harte, Adrian Tuohy, Gerry McInerney; Johnny Coen, David Burke; Davy Glennon, Joseph Cooney, Paul Flaherty; Conor Whelan, Jason Flynn, Conor Cooney. Subs: Brian Molloy for Flaherty (28mins), Shane Maloney for Whelan (51mins), Michael Conneely for Harte (51mins), Niall Burke for Glennon (51mins), Tomas Monaghan for Flynn (60mins).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.