Ballyboden are One Direct All Ireland 7’s Champions 2013

There were great celebrations in Stillorgan after the first all-Dublin senior final of the One Direct Kilmacud Senior Hurling Club Sevens Competition.

Now in its 41st year the final saw Ballyboden St Enda’s crowned champions after a famous victory over fellow county rivals Cuala on a 4-13 to 3-11 scoreline.

With both teams boasting a hefty representation of inter-county stars ‘Boden edged the first half 2-5 to 1-5, with Conal Keaney bagging two goals and Mark Schutte replying for Cuala.

The second half started at a frenetic pace with with four green flags raised in four minutes through John Sheanon and Mark Schutte for the Dalkey side and Niall McMorrow with a brace for ‘Boden.

The winners withstood pressure late on, including a pointed semi-penalty by David Treacy, to eventually prevail by five points.

In the semi-finals, Ballyboden defeated Moycarkey Borris 2-13 to 1-7, while Cuala got the better of Mullinahone 6-13 to 3-03.

The beaten quarter finalists were Thurles Sarsfields, Kilmacud Crokes, Templederry Kenyons and Portroe.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.