17 Aug 2022




Lotto: Numbers drawn were 4, 19, 22, 24. One match 3 winner - May Lowry, Tullamore. Next weeks jackpot will be €4000 and the draw will be held on Saturday night in Gussies Pub.

Sympathy: It was with great sadness that we heard of the sudden passing of Charlie Daly of Leamonaghan at his home on Thursday evening. Though in failing health during the past year he continued to work and lead a normal life and as most recent as Sunday, June 10 he attended a hurling league match in Moystown to watch his son Karl play with Brosna Gaels. Indeed he was a regular spectator at both football and hurling matches in which Karl played. Charlie was a member of the Junior Football Championship winning team of 1963. He will be greatly missed by his wife Mary and Karl and his extended family and a wide circle of friends. The large number of visitors to his house and the attendance at his funeral bore testament to the esteem in which Charlie was held by all who knew him. As a mark of respect to Charlie and his support to both Brosna Gaels Hurling Club and Ballycumber Football Club, members of both clubs formed Guards of Honour at his removal to Pullough Church on Sunday evening. Charlie will be sadly missed by all who knew him. May he rest in peace.

JFC: Ballycumber suffered a heavy defeat in Daingean on Sunday. The lack of numbers was a contributing factor and marked the fourth occasion in the history of the Club where a father and son lined out on the same team in the championship. Dermot and David Egan joined Christy and Nicholas Grennan, Frank and Francis Healy and Eamonn and Eddie Larkin. Team: Peter Flynn, Colm Kelly, Mick Egan, Dessie Daly, Daniel Boland, Aaron Daly, David Ayres, Paul Kelly, Sean Hackett, Andy Grennan, Dermot Egan, Brian Guinan, Leo Guinan, Vinny Minnock, David Egan, Sub Peter Guinan.

Feile: Congratulations to Amanda Keena, Grainne Murray, Amy Mangan and Aine Guinan and to all involved with St Ciarans Football Club who were the winners of the Girls Division 1 Final. They defeated Claregalway by 0-6 to 0-3. Naomh Eanna of Wexford, the team that Ballycumber/Tubber hosted were the winners of the Boys Division 3 Final. Well done to the Ballycumber/Tubber under 14’s who competed in the Feile and to all involved in helping to make the weekend such a success.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.