15 Aug 2022

Offaly man named Irish Rugby 7s 'Player of the Year'

Offaly man named Irish Rugby 7s 'Player of the Year'

Offaly man named Irish Rugby 7s 'Player of the Year'

An Offaly rugby star has picked up an award at the annual Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Awards held at the Guinness Storehouse recently.

Tullamore's Jordan Conroy was among the winners, alongside Joe Schmidt, the Ireland Under-20s, Cork Constitution, James Ryan, Ciara Griffin, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Michael Kiernan.

This is the first year that awards were given to Ireland’s Sevens players by the Rugby Writers of Ireland. Jordan Conroy was named the inaugural Men’s Sevens Player of the Year, while fellow speedster Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe is the first Women’s Sevens Player of the Year. 

Jordan’s try-scoring helped secure a World Series place for the Ireland men in 2019/20.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.