Offaly U20 football team named for Limerick clash

Offaly U20 football team named for Limerick clash

Offaly's Cian Johnson

Offaly U20 football boss Declan Kelly has named his starting team to take on Limerick in the Liam O'Connor Cup on Wednesday evening, May 29.

Kelly's charges are taking part in the competition ahead of their Leinster Championship campaign later this summer. They will play Wicklow, Clare and Westmeath after Wednesday's clash with Limerick.

The cup is named in honour of the late and great Liam O’Connor who donned the Offaly jersey with amazing distinction from 1979 to 1986 where he wore the No. 3 shirt in every championship match.

Liam a part of the famous Walsh Island football dynasty collected an All Ireland Medal in 1982 and will be forever remembered as the player who delivered the long lobbing ball into Seamus Darby for possibly the most famous goal in GAA history.

On Wednesday, Offaly will take the field with a strong line-up, which includes Cian Johnson and Cian Farrell in the forward line. 

You can see the full team below:

The game against Limerick throws in at 7.30pm on Wednesday evening in BNM O'Connor Park.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.