Offaly man named on Leinster Rugby's Junior Interpro squad

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly man named on Leinster Rugby's Junior Interpro squad

Shane Kelly, third from the left in the front row, with his teammates and coaches

Offaly man Shane 'Bisto' Kelly has been named in the Leinster Rugby squad for this year’s Junior Interprovincial Series which kicks off on Saturday, April 27, at Skibbereen RFC.

The Edenderry man and former Waterford IT student joins a host of club talent from around the country and as the reigning champions, Leinster will play Munster Juniors in their opening game.

Another Edenderry RFC man, Robert McDermott, has been named as the team manager with Enda Finn taking charge as head coach.

After clashing with Munster, Leinster will face Connacht at Wicklow RFC on May 4 while their final match will take place at Dundalk RFC against Ulster Juniors on Saturday, May 11.

Kick-off time for all games is 2.30pm.

Before the series gets underway, the Leinster Junior squad travel to Somerset next weekend, where they will play a friendly against Somerset County.

2019 Leinster Rugby Junior Squad:

Sean Arrowsmith – Dundalk RFC
Cathal Bannon – Monkstown RFC
Adam Brodigan – Boyne RFC
Liam Caddy – Kilkenny RFC
Wes Carter – Kilkenny RFC
Corey Carty – Wexford RFC
Dan Costello – Monkstown RFC
Ronan Costelloe – DLSP FC
Robert Farrell – Dundalk RFC
Robin Foot – Portlaoise RFC
Hugh Gowing – Monkstown RFC
Jonathan Gray – Dundalk RFC
Conor Hurley – Ashbourne RFC
Shane Kelly – Edenderry RFC
Gavin Kennedy – Ashbourne RFC
Simon King – Clondalkin RFC
Alejandro LaForga – DLSP FC
Daniel Lambe – Cill Dara RFC
Padraig Mahon – Kilkenny RFC
Jack McDonald – Tullow RFC
Jake McDonald – Kilkenny RFC
John-Joe McIlwrath – Cill Dara RFC
Sean McKeon – Ashbourne RFC
Benny McManus – Longford RFC
Kieran O’Gorman – Longford RFC (Captain)
Shane O’Meara – Bective FC
Ian O’Rahelly – Newbridge RFC
Simon O’Shea – Kilkenny RFC
Luke Roche – Wexford RFC
Mikey Russell – Clondalkin RFC (Vice-Captain)
Tom Satchwell – North Kildare RFC
Stephen Smith – Tullow RFC
Matt Stapleton – Clondalkin RFC
Robbie Waters – North Kildare RFC