Offaly man in squad for Ireland U20 Six Nations clash with England

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly man in squad for Ireland U20 Six Nations clash with England

Offaly man in squad for Ireland U20 Six Nations clash with England

Offaly man Michael Milne as been named among the replacement in the Ireland U20 squad to face England in the Six Nations on Friday evening, February 1.

Head coach Noel McNamara named his side on Wednesday with Birr native and former Birr RFC player Michael Milne on the bench.

The former Cistercian Roscrea student, who now lines out for UCD RFC and Leinster, will be hoping for game time as Ireland get their Six Nations campaign underway.

There are 12 Leinster Rugby representatives within the squad with Clontarf RFC’s David Hawkshaw named as captain. He lines out at centre alongside Liam Turner.

Elsewhere, Josh Wycherley and Thomas Clarkson will line out either side of hooker Dylan Tierney-Martin in the scrum.

Martin Moloney, recent Leinster debutant Scott Penny and No 8 John Hodnett make up the back row.

Scrum-half Craig Casey partners Harry Byrne, who is set to earn his 11th U20 cap.

Jake Flannery starts at full back with Conor Phillips and Jonathan Wren on the wings.

The match, due to be played in Irish Independent Park, Cork, will also be screened live on RTE.

Ireland U20 v England:

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon RFC/Munster)
14. Conor Phillips (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
12. David Hawkshaw (Clontarf RFC/Leinster) capt
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution FC/Munster)
10. Harry Byrne (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon RFC/Munster)

1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC/Leinster)
5. Niall Murray (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht)
6. Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
7. Scott Penny (UCD RFC/Leinster)
8. John Hodnett (UCC RFC/Munster)

16. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
17. Michael Milne (UCD RFC/Leinster)
18. Ryan Lomas (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
19. Brian Deeny (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
20. David McCann (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)
21. Cormac Foley (St Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
22. Sean French (Cork Constitution FC/Munster)
23. Rob Russell (Dublin University FC/Leinster)