Three Offaly women named in Ireland squad for Six Nations warm-up

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Three Offaly women named in Ireland squad for Six Nations warm-up

Three Offaly women named in Ireland squad for Six Nations warm-up

Three Offaly women have made the grade for head coach Adam Griggs in his Ireland Women's squad for their upcoming Six Nations warm-up game agaisnt Wales.

Michelle Claffey, Nichola Fryday and Ailsa Hughes have been included in his 29-strong squad ahead of Sunday's uncapped Six Nations warm-up fixture against Wales at Energia Park in Donnybrook.

Eight uncapped players have been included in the Ireland squad for the warm-up fixture with Linda Djougang, Anne Marie O'Hora, Hannah O'Connor and Claire Boles featuring in the forwards, while Kathryn Dane, Claire Keohane, Ailbhe Dowling and Enya Breen are picked among the backs.

Speaking ahead of the weekend's match, Adam Griggs said: "We have had two very productive training camps since Christmas and the players have been working hard to make sure we carry on from the good performance we had in our last autumn international against England in Twickenham."

"While we didn't get the result we were after in that game the players took a big step in terms of their development and now have a feel for what is required at international level."

Hughes, Claffey and Fryday all featured in last year's Six Nations squad and are expected to make their presence felt again this year as the Ireland Women's team get their Six Nations campaign underway against England on Friday, Febriary 1.

Tickets available on

IRELAND WOMEN'S Squad (v Wales, Women's Six Nations Warm-Up Match, Energia Park, Donnybrook, Sunday, January 20, kick-off 1pm):

Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster) *
Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)
Anna Caplice (Richmond)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster) *
Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Ailbhe Dowling (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Emma Hooban (St. Mary's/Leinster)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
Claire Keohane (Railway Union/Munster) *
Leah Lyons (Harlequins)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
Claire Molloy (Wasps)
Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Hannah O'Connor (Blackrock/Leinster) *
Anne Marie O'Hora (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Juliet Short (Railway Union/Leinster)
Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

* Denotes uncapped player at this level