Maughan names first Offaly team ahead of Westmeath O'Byrne Cup clash

Maughan names first Offaly team ahead of Westmeath O'Byrne Cup clash

Maughan names first Offaly team ahead of Westmeath O'Byrne Cup clash

Newly appointed Offaly football boss John Maughan and his management team of Gerry O’Malley and Kevin Guing have named their team to take on Westmeath in the Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup on Saturday, December 15 at 2pm in Pairc Ciaran, Athlone.

The team is a much-changed squad from last summer with new faces from from Daingean, Edenderry and Kilclonfert starting.

Maughan will be using the O'Byrne Cup to get a look at players ahead of the league campaign in the New Year and the first round of the Leinster Championship against Meath next summer.

Barry Rohan will start between the posts with Declan Hogan, David Dempsey and PJ Daly protecting him in the fullback line. 

Edenderry Mark Abbott makes his debut in the halfback line alongside the more experienced heads of Niall Darby and Joey O'Connor. 

Cathal Mangan and Aaron Leavy are a new pairing in midfield with Anton Sullivan, Kyle Higgins and Nigel Bracken lining out at half-forward.

Bernard Allen will hope to continue his good form from last year in one corner with Shane Tierney in the other, while the imposing figure of Johnny Maloney will line out at full-forward.

The game against Westmeath throws in at 2pm in Pairc Ciaran, Athlone on Saturday, December 15.

The team and panel are as follows:

Barry Rohan (Shannonbridge)
Declan Hogan (Tullamore)
David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
PJ Daly (Cappincur)
Mark Abbott (Edenderry)
Niall Darby (Rhode)
Joseph O’Connor (St. Rynagh’s)
Cathal Mangan (Kilclonfert)
Aaron Leavy (Tullamore)
Nigel Bracken (Tullamore)
Anton Sullivan (Rhode)
Kyle Higgins (Ferbane)
Bernard Allen (Tubber)
Johnny Moloney (Tullamore)
Shane Tierney (Daingean)


Jason Dunne (Clodiagh Gaels)
Conor Carroll (Raheen)
David Fleming (Clara)
Ruairi McNamee (Rhode)
Clint Horan (Clodiagh Gaels)
Paul McConway (Tullamore)
Bobby Mitchell (Clara)
Colm Doyle (Clara)
Eoin Rigney (Rhode)
Cian Donohue (St. Brigid’s)

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.