St Brigid's come on strong in second-half to reach Leinster Final

St Brigid's come on strong in second-half to reach Leinster Final

Offaly Express Reporter


Offaly Express Reporter


Milltown crash out to St Brigid's

Milltown Morgan Owens gets his hand pass away as St Brigids Alan Kennedy closes in during the AIB Leinster Junior Football Club Championship semi-final played at Hawkfield

Leinster Club Junior Football Championship Semi-Final

St Brigid's quest for Leinster Championship glory continues after they registered a 1-11 to 1-7 victory over Milltown on Saturday afternoon.

A powerful surge in the third quarter set the Offaly club up for victory and although Milltown threw everything at them in the final few minutes it wasn’t enough.

Despite missing a number of opportunities in the first half Milltown did hold the interval lead thanks to a Morgan Owens goal.

Thomas Mooney had earlier put St Brigid's in front with his own three pointer but it was Milltown that went into the break leading 1-4 to 1-3.

Milltown looked primed to kick on when they led by two points at the beginning of the second half but St Brigids hit five on the bounce to take the lead.

Alan Dignam got Milltown within touching distance at the end but St Brigid's defended stoutly and thanks to six points from David Egan, they eased home to a deserved four point victory.

Scorers for St.Brigids: David Egan 0-6 (0-4fs), Thomas Mooney 1-1, Bob Troy 0-2, Cian Donoghue 0-1, Eddie Grogan 0-1

Scorers for Milltown: Morgan Owens 1-0, Alan Dignam 0-2 (0-2fs), Colin O’Shea 0-1, Omar Dunne 0-1, Ronan O’Shea 0-1, Robert Scully 0-1, Wayne Dignam 0-1.

St.Brigids: Liam Fox; Ger Hannon, Alan Kennedy, Willie Molloy, Liam Cocoman, Shay Hannon, Rob Hoey, Cian Donoghue, Dan Molloy, Thomas Mooney, David Egan, Sean Og Cocoman, Bob Troy, Alan Scally, Eunan Lawlor. Subs: Joe Quinn for G.Hannon h-t, Eddie Grogan for Lawlor 52 mins, David Boland for S. Hannon 52 mins.

Milltown: Paul Mulhall; Jamie Cross, Kevin Byrne, Eoin Dowling, Morgan Owens, Colin O’Shea, James Condon, Omar Dunne, Eoghan O’Toole, Alan Dignam, Kevin Dowling, Cian Buckley, Wayne Dignam, Ronan O’Shea, Robert Scully. Subs: John O’Reilly for Scully 60 mins, Eddie Owens for Cross 60 mins.

Ref: Declan Fedigan