Offaly name strong team for U21 clash with Galway

Senior keeper Cahill captains the team

Offaly name strong team for U21 clash with Galway

The Offaly U21 hurling management of Aidan Hanrahan, Pat McIntyre, Ollie Glynn and Jimmy Conway have named their side to play Galway on Wednesday evening at 7.30pm in Bord na Mona O’Connor Park.

The game marks the beginning of the Leinster Championship for this talented outfit which will be captained from between the sticks by Birr's Eoghan Cahill. 

Cahill came of age during Offaly's senior Leinster Championship and despite Kevin Martin's men being relegated to the Joe McDonagh Cup, Eoghan emerged as a serious shot stopper, nailing down the No. 1 jersey. 

There will be senior grade talent in the fullback line as well with Ben Conneely lining out and the Rynagh's man will be joined by Cathal O'Meara of Clara and Michael Gilligan from the Seir Kieran club. 

Making up the half back line will be Ross Connaughton, Paddy Delaney and Dylan Watkins. 

Cathal O'Brien and David Buckley form the midfield partnership while Brian Duignan, the son of two-time All-Ireland winner Michael Duignan, makes the grade in the half forward line. He'll be joined by Liam Langton and Joe Keenaghan.

Senior star Oisin Kelly will be an imposing target man at full forward and he'll be accompanied by Conor Langton and Wayne Mooney who line up in the corner forward positions. 

Offaly's U21 clash with Galway takes place at 7.30pm on Wednesday in Bord na Mona O'Connor Park.

The Offaly starting 15 is as follows:

1 Eoghan Cahill (Birr) (Capt.)
2 Michael Gilligan (Seir Kieran)
3 Ben Conneely (St Rynagh’s)
4 Cathal O’Meara (Clara)
5 Ross Connaughton (Carrig & Riverstown)
6 Paddy Delaney (Kinnitty)
7 Dylan Watkins (Birr)
8 Cathal O’Brien (Shamrocks)
9 David Buckley (Clodiagh Gaels)
10 Brian Duignan (Ballinamere)
11 Liam Langton (Clodiagh Gaels)
12 Joe Keenaghan (Clodiagh Gaels)
13 Conor Langton (Clodiagh Gaels)
14 Oisin Kelly (Belmont)
15 Wayne Mooney (Shamrocks)

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.