Offaly relegated from Leinster Senior Hurling Championship after heavy loss to Dublin

Offaly are facing into the Joe McDonagh Cup next year

Offaly Express Reporter


Offaly Express Reporter


Offaly Hurling

Offaly relegated from Leinster Senior Hurling Championship after heavy loss to Dublin

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship - Dublin 2-24 Offaly 0-13

Barring a last minute change of rule regarding relegation, Offaly will be playing in the Joe McDonagh Cup next year after losing to Dublin in Parnell Park on Sunday.

Playing their fourth game in four weeks, the only team in Leinster that had to do so, Offaly were well in the game approaching half-time but a rush of scores for Dublin before half-time changed the game. 

Dublin had led by two points with the break approaching but they hit 1-3 before the break, with Paul Ryan getting the goal, to open up a crucial lead. Offaly had a claim for a penalty turned down when Sean Ryan went down in the square just before that scoring run started which would have put Kevin Martin's side in the lead. 

Dublin led by 1-10 to 0-6 at the break and to compound matters, they hit a second goal after the restart through Fergal Whitely. Another four points followed as any hope Offaly had of avoiding relegation burned up in the heat in Parnell Park.

Offaly were awarded a penalty in the second-half but Joe Bergin's effort was saved by Alan Nolan. Bergin was Offaly's top scorer with four points, all from frees, with only midfielder Dan Currams and substitute Paddy Murphy managing to score more than once from play for Offaly in the day.

Entering the final quarter, Dublin were 2-18 to 0-7 ahead and while Offaly did match their hosts point for point in the closing stages, the game was long since lost.

That brings an end to Offaly's involvement in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship this year but the lobbying should now begin for a change in the championship structure that would see Offaly avoid relegation while also allowing the Joe McDonagh Cup winners into the Leinster Championship next season


Dublin: Paul Ryan 1-5 (0-4f) Shane Barrett 0-4, Fergal Whitely 1-1, Chris Crummey 0-4, Conal Keaney 0-2, Liam Rushe 0-2, Jake Malone 0-2, Cian Boland 0-2, Rian McBride 0-1, Fiontan McGibb 0-1.

Offaly: Joe Bergin 0-4f, Shane Dooley 0-2f Dan Currams 0-2, Paddy Murphy 0-2, Kevin Dunne 0-1, Eoghan Cahill 0-1f, James Gorman 0-1.

DUBLIN: Alan Nolan; Paddy Smyth, Cian O’Callaghan, Eoghan O’Donnell; Shane Barrett, Sean Moran, Chris Crummey; Rian McBride, Jake Malone; Fiontan McGibb, Conal Keaney, Danny Sutcliffe; Fergal Whitely, Liam Rushe, Paul Ryan. Subs: Cian Boland for Fergal Whitely (51), Tomas Connolly for Rian McBride (55mins), David Treacy for Conal Keaney (57mins), Johnny McCaffrey for Fiontan McGibb (62mins), Paul Winters for Liam Rushe (63mins)

OFFALY: Eoghan Cahill; Tom Spain, Ben Conneely, David O’Toole Greene; Dermot Shortt, Pat Camon, David King; Dan Currams, Damien Egan; Tommy Geraghty, Colin Egan, Shane Kinsella; Sean Ryan, Conor Mahon, Joe Bergin. Subs: Shane Dooley for Sean Ryan (41mins), Paddy Murphy for Damien Egan (47mins), Ronan Hughes for Colin Egan (47mins), Kevin Dunne for Shane Kinsella (47mins), James Gorman for Joe Bergin (55mins)