Wallace names Offaly football team for Wicklow clash

The squad has been plagued with injuries

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly



Wallace names Offaly football team for Wicklow clash

Stephen Wallace has named his Offaly Senior Football Team to play Wicklow on Sunday at 4pm in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise in the opening Round of the Leinster Championship.

The Offaly camp has been hit with injuries and the likes of Peter Cunningham, Joey O'Connor and Jack Egan all missing out. Eoin Carroll is only for enough to start from the bench.

Captain Anton Sullivan moves from the half forward line, where he spent most of the Allianz League, into corner forward. 

The imposing figure of Conor Carroll will join Conor McNamee and the versatile Cian Donohue in the half forward line. 

Inn he absence of Cunningham, Craig Dunne starts at midfield alongside initial injury doubt Michael Brazil. 

Much of the scoring burden will fall to Nigel Dunne and Bernard Allen who continue their roles in the full forward line.

The Team selection is a follows

1 Alan Mulhall (Walsh Island)
2 Declan Hogan (Tullamore)
3 James Lalor (Raheen)
4 Paul McConway  (Tullamore)
5 David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
6 Sean Pender (Edenderry)
7 Niall Darby (Rhode)
8 Craig Dunne (Gracefield)
9 Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
10 Cian Donohue (St. Brigid’s)
11 Conor McNamee (Rhode)
12 Conor Carroll (Raheen)
13 Bernard Allen (Tubber)
14 Nigel Dunne  (Shamrocks)
15 Anton Sullivan (Rhode)
16 Paddy Dunican (Shamrocks)
17 Shane Nally (Ferbane)
18 Anthony Cunningham (Bracknagh)
19 Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)
20 Eoin Carroll (Cappincur)
21 David Brady (Edenderry)
22 Bobby O’Dea (Durrow)
23 Sean Doyle (Edenderry)
24 Ruairi McNamee (Rhode)
25 Shane Tierney (Daingean)
26 Gerry Spollen (Durrow)