Offaly minor hurling team named for championship opener against Meath

A strong 15 from the management team

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly minor hurling team named for championship opener against Meath

Offaly’s Minor Hurling Management team of Eunan Martin, Eamon Hoctor, Liam Bergin, Hughie Hannon and Gareth Doorley have named their panel to take on Meath in the opening round of the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Championship on Saturday, May 12 inTrim at 2pm.

Stephen Loughnane debutises between the sticks with Aaron Flanagan, Bill Egan and Shane Mulrooney in front of him.

Tullamore, Shinrone and Birr provide the half back line through Luke Egan, Dara Maher and Luke Nolan respectively.

Ballinamere man Andrew Walsh and Clodiagh Gaels' Emmet Curley make up the midfield.

Captain Cathal Kiely will flank Cillian Sampson who lines out at centre forward with DJ McLoughlin named on the other wing. 

David Molloy, Cathal Donoghue and Danny Flanagan are tasked with providing the firepower from the full forward line. 

The Offaly team to play Meath:

1 Stephen Loughnane (Shinrone)
2 Aaron Flanagan (Clodiagh Gaels)
3 Bill Egan (Shannonbridge)
4 Shane Mulrooney (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
5 Luke Egan (Tullamore)
6 Dara Maher (Shinrone)
7 Luke Nolan (Birr)
8 Andrew Walsh (Ballinamere)
9 Emmet Curley (Clodiagh Gaels)
10 Cathal Kiely (Kilcormac/Killoughey) (Capt.)
11 Cillian Sampson (Shinrone)
12 DJ McLoughlin (Shinrone)
13 David Molloy  (Shamrocks)
14 Cathal Donoghue (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
15 Danny Flanagan (Kinnitty)

16 David Tooher (Coolderry)
17 Jack Screeney (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
18 Ciaran Teehan (Coolderry)
19 Aaron Brazil  (Shannonbridge)
20 Evan Houlihan  (St Rynagh’s)
21 Cathal Kilmartin (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
22 Brian Rigney (St Rynagh’s)
23 Eoin Gleeson (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
24 Sean Flynn  (Ferbane)