Offaly name minor football team for Leinster Championship opener

11 clubs represented in the starting 15

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly name minor football team for Leinster Championship opener

Offaly name minor football team for Leinster Championship opener

The Offaly Minor Football team to start their Leisnter Championship opener against Wicklow this weekend has been named. 

The management team of John Hughes, Noel Daly and Kevin Meehan have selected a starting 15 that sees 11 of the county's clubs represented.

Offaly open their account against Wicklow in the Electric Ireland Minor Football Championship on Bank Holiday Monday, May 7 at 2pm in Aughrim.

Edenderry's Rory Egan has been named as the captain for the team and he will start at centreback for the clash. His Edenderry comrade Briain Nolan will start in the full-back line. Daniel Lowry completes an Edenderry trio in the starting team at corner forward.

Shamrocks are also well represented with Sean O'Toole, Kieran Dolan and Jack Bryant picked to start the game. The full back line is made up of Aaron Brazil from Shannonbridge, as well as Dolan and Nolan from Shamrocks and Edenderry respectively.

Clara's Ed Cullen and Ferbane's Harry Balsiger will flank captain Rory Egan in the halfbck line with Kilcormac-Killoughey and Ballinagar forming the midfield partnership through Cathal Donoghue and Morgan Tynan.

Peter Bennett from Clonbullouge, Cappincur man Sean Courtney and Bracknagh's latest prodigy, Mikey Cunningham all start in the half-forward line.

The team is completed by Jack Bryant, Daniel Lowry and Rhode's Aaron Kellaghan in a potent looking full-forward line. 

The Offaly Minor Football Team to play Wicklow:

Sean O'Toole  (Shamrocks)
Aaron Brazil  (Shannonbridge)
Kieran Dolan  (Shamrocks)
Briain Nolan  (Edenderry)
Ed Cullen  (Clara)
Rory Egan  (Edenderry) (Capt.)
Harry Balsiger  (Ferbane)
Cathal Donoghue (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
Morgan Tynan (Ballinagar)
Peter Bennett  (Clonbullogue)
Sean Courtney  (Cappincur)
Mikey Cunningham (Bracknagh)
Jack Bryant  (Shamrocks)
Daniel Lowry  (Edenderry)
Aaron Kellaghan  (Rhode)


If you have a story for us, sports news, an event happening in your area, or if you want to submit pictures or videos, contact the Offaly Express team via email to, or through our Facebook.