Wallace names Offaly team for crucial league clash with Wexford

Two players ruled out through injury

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly



Wallace names Offaly team for crucial league clash with Wexford

Stephen Wallace and his management team have announced the Offaly panel to line out against Wexford on Saturday, March 10 at 3pm in St. Patrick's Park, Enniscorthy.

Both teams are chasing their first win in Division 3 of the Allianz Football League.

Paddy Dunican looks to have nailed down the goalkeeping position and his first line of cover will be supplied by Declan Hogan, Paul McConway and Sean Pender. 

Veteran Niall Darby is the old head in the half back line alongside David Dempsey and Shane Nally.

The midfield pairing looks strong as Peter Cunningham and Michael Brazil take their place, while captain Anton Sullivan is joined by Jordan Hayes and Cian Donohoe in the half forward line. 

Bernard Allen, Conor Carroll and Offaly's top scorer Nigel Dunne remain in their places in the full forward line. 

Notable absentees are Joey O'Connor and Eoin Carroll who miss out with groin and knee injuries respectively. 

Cian Johnson is among the substitutes after playing for his school Gallen CS in their North Leinster title victory on Thursday. 

The Offaly team to play Wexford

1. Paddy Dunican - (Shamrocks)
2. Declan Hogan (Tullamore)
3. Paul McConway (Tullamore)
4. Sean Pender (Edenderry)
5. David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
6. Shane Nally (Ferbane)
7. Niall Darby (Rhode)
8. Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)
9. Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
10. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)
11. Anton Sullivan (Rhode)
12. Cian Donohue (St. Brigid's)
13. Bernard Allen (Tubber)
14. Conor Carroll (Raheen)
15. Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)


16. Alan Mulhall (Walsh Island)
17. Shane Tierney (Daingean)
18. Cian Johnson (Ferbane)
19. Craig Dunne (Gracefield)
20. David Brady (Edenderry)
21. Conor McNamee (Rhode)
22. James Lalor (Raheen)
23. Sean Doyle (Edenderry)
24. Aaron Hensey (Tullamore)
25. Jack Egan (Ferbane)
26. Bobby O'Dea (Durrow)