Offaly manager makes four changes as he names team to face Derry

Peter Cunningham also moves out to midfield

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly manager makes four changes as he names team to face Derry

Offaly manager makes four changes as he names team to face Derry

Stephen Wallace has made four changes to his starting 15 for Offaly's trip to Celtic Park on Sunday to play Derry in the 3rd Round of the Allianz National League at 2pm.

Barry Rohan, Declan Hogan, Bobby O'Dea and Bernard Allen all come in, while Patrick Dunican, Craig Dunne, Cian Johnson and Jordan Hayes are the ones to drop to the bench.

SEE MORE: PREVIEW: Offaly face tough task on trip to Derry in search of first league win

Shannonbridge stopper Barry Rohan comes into the team at number 1, Declan Hogan will start at corner back where he's be joined by Paul McConway and David Brady.

David Dempsey and Niall Darby continue as they wing-backs, while Sean Pender remains in the team but moves from corner-back to centre-back. 

Peter Cunningham switches from centre-back to midfield where he'll play alongside Hogan Cup winning captain Conor McNamee. 

Durrow's Bobby O'Dea takes over from Jordan Hayes in the half-forward line with Michael Brazil continuing at centre-forward and Shane Nally maintaining his starting berth on the other wing.

The final change sees Bernard Allen come back into the team at corner-forward at the expense of youngster Cian Johnson, and the Tubber man will play alongside team captain Anton Sullivan who's named at corner-forward and Nigel Dunne who continues in the other corner.

Sean Doyle, Johnny Moloney and Joey O'Connor once again start on the bench but are likely to see action on Sunday with an attritional encounter expected in Derry. 

The Offaly team to play Derry in full:

1. Barry Rohan (Shannonbridge)
2. Declan Hogan (Tullamore)
3. Paul McConway (Tullamore)
4. David Brady (Edenderry)
5. David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
6. Sean Pender (Edenderry)
7. Niall Darby (Rhode)
8. Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)
9. Conor McNamee (Rhode)
10. Bobby O'Dea (Durrow)
11. Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
12. Shane Nally (Ferbane)
13. Bernard Allen (Tubber)
14. Anton Sullivan (Rhode)
15. Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)


16. Alan Mulhall (Walsh Island)
17. Shane Tierney (Daingean)
18. Joseph O'Connor (St. Rynagh's)
19. Cian Johnson (Ferbane)
20. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)
21. Aaron Hensey (Tullamore)
22. James Lalor (Raheen)
23. Sean Doyle (Edenderry)
24. Conor Carroll (Raheen)
25. Jack Egan (Ferbane)
26. John Moloney (Tullamore)