Offaly team named for crucial league clash with Fermanagh

Stephen Wallace has made some changes

Offaly team named for crucial league clash with Fermanagh

Offaly team named for crucial league clash with Fermanagh

Stephen Wallace, Billy Sheehan and Paul Mollen have selected the Offaly team to face Fermanagh in the second round of the Allianz National Football League on Sunday, February 4 at 2pm in Brewster Park, Enniskillen.

Wallace has made a number of changes as the Faithful look to get back on track after a heavy 3-18 to 1-13 defeat to Longford in their opening Division 3 came last weekend.

Paddy Dunican will start in goals instead of veteran Alan Mulhall, and while the full-back line remains unchanged, the big news is that Peter Cunningham comes in for his first start of the year after injury in place of Cian Donohue at centre-back. Niall Darby also comes back into the team in place of James Lalor.

Craig Dunne retains his place in midfield with Rhode's Conor McNamee coming into the team to start alongside him, while the other half of last week's midfield pair, Shane Nally, moves into the half-forward line.

Young Edenderry recruit Jordan Hayes retains his place in that line, as does Michael Brazil, while captain Anton Sullivan is named at full-forward. 

He'll be playing alongside teenager Cian Johnson who's been handed one corner, and Nigel Dunne who maintains his role in the other corner. Bernard Allen drops to the bench in the final change from last week.

Johnny Moloney, who was introduced as a substitute in the Longford game is named on the bench as he continues his full recovery from injury. 

The game throws in at 2pm on Sunday at Brewster Park, Enniskillen.

The Offaly team to play Fermanagh in full:

1. Patrick Dunican (Shamrocks)
2. David Brady (Edenderry)
3. Paul McConway (Tullamore)
4. Sean Pender (Edenderry)
5. David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
6. Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)
7. Niall Darby (Rhode)
8. Conor McNamee (Rhode)
9. Craig Dunne (Gracefield)
10. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)
11. Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
12. Shane Nally (Ferbane)
13. Cian Johnson (Ferbane)
14. Anton Sullivan (Rhode)
15. Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)


16. Barry Rohan (Shannonbridge)
17. Joseph O'Connor (St. Rynagh's)
18. Bobby O'Dea (Durrow)
19. Bernard Allen (Tubber)
20. Shane Tierney (Daingean)
21. Sean Doyle (Edenderry)
22. John Moloney (Tullamore)
23. Aaron Hensey (Tullamore)
24. James Lalor (Raheen)
25. Jack Egan (Ferbane)
26. Conor Carroll (Raheen)

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.