07 Dec 2021

Four Offaly players nominated for Camogie All Stars

Jean Brady, Siobhan Flannery, Michaela Morkan and Tina Hannon up for awards

Four Offaly players are among the list of nominees for Camogie All Stars this year.

St Sinchill's Jean Brady is nominated for the full-back line while St Rynagh's Siobhan Flannery is nominated in the half-back line.

Shinrone's Michaela Morkan has been nominated in the half-forward line with Naomh Brid's Tina Hannon nominated in the full-forward line.

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and finalists Cork dominate the Camogie All-Stars 2016 shortlist. The final team will be announced at the 13th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance at Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 5.

Kilkenny, who won their first All-Ireland title since 1994, received 15 nominations. Cork received 10 nominations. Tipperary received five nominations, National League finalists Galway received four nominations as did Wexford. Clare, Limerick and Waterford received one nomination each.

President of the Camogie Association Catherine Neary congratulated the nominees stated, “The Camogie All-Stars celebrate the outstanding skill, commitment, athleticism and sportsmanship of our players and it is important to acknowledge at a national level their contribution to our game and to provide them with the recognition they so richly deserve. The 2016 nominees are drawn from across nine counties and showcase the continued growth of Camogie at intercounty level. I wish to thank our commercial partners Liberty Insurance for their continued sponsorship of the Camogie All-Stars.”

Deirdre Ashe, Director of Personal Lines for Liberty Insurance said, “The Camogie All-Stars recognise the outstanding achievement of players and management from the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Camogie Championships earlier this summer; congratulations to everyone who has been nominated. We’re delighted to sponsor the awards again this year and are looking forward to what is always a memorable and very special evening of celebration on November 5.”

Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork) and Ann Downey (Kilkenny) are amongst the nominees for Manager of the Year.
The nominees for the Intermediate Soaring Stars and Soaring Stars will be announced later this week. Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players' Player of the Year Awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance will be announced next week.

Camogie All-Stars 2016 sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:

Goalkeepers: Aoife Murray (Cork), Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny), Mags D’Arcy (Wexford)

Full-Back Line: Rena Buckley (Cork), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Laura Treacy (Cork), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Collette Dormer (Kilkenny), Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny), Jean Brady (Offaly), Aoife McGrath (Tipperary)

Half-Back Line: Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Patricia Jackman (Waterford), Sarah O’Connor (Wexford)

Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Anna Farrell (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Teresa Ryan (Tipperary), Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)

Half-Forward Line: Hannah Looney (Cork), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Aoife Donohue (Galway), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Mary Ryan, (Tipperary), Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)

Full-Forward Line: Briege Corkery (Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Shelly Farrell, (Kilkenny), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny), Tina Hannon (Offaly), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Kate Kelly (Wexford)

Manager of the Year: Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork), Ann Downey (Kilkenny)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.