Offaly star picks up prestigious award in Croke Park

Offaly Express Reporter


Offaly Express Reporter


Offaly star picks up prestigious award in Croke Park

Brian Carroll of Coolderry is presented with his award by GAA President John Horan, right, and Denis O'Callaghan, Head of AIB Retail Banking PICTURE: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

Offaly's Brian Carroll picked up his award for being named on the GAA's Club Team of the Year at a function in Croke Park on Saturday.

The Coolderry stalwart was named at corner-forward on the team made up predominantly by players from All-Ireland champions Ballyhale Shamrocks and Ballygunner.

Just five clubs were represented in total with Brian Carroll and Coolderry being the only Offaly inclusion. 

Carroll was again to the fore as Coolderry collected another Offaly county title at the expense of Kilcormac-Killoughey. He then led his team to the semi-final stage where they lost out in an epic ten-goal thriller against Ballyboden St Endas.

They had overcome Mount Leinster Rangers at the quarter-final stage. 

Ballyhale Shamrocks' Adrian Mullen was named AIB Club Hurler of the Year.

The club hurling team of the year is:

Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
Eoghan Campbell (Ruairí Óg)
Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Ian Kenny (Ballygunner)
Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Fintan Burke (St Thomas’)
Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner)
Neil McManus (Ruairí Óg)
Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
Brian Carroll (Coolderry)