13 Aug 2022

Tullamore player called up for Ireland Women's Rugby Camp

Tullamore player called up for Ireland Women's Rugby Camp

Tullamore back row Nichola Fryday has been called up to the Ireland Women's Rugby Squad for a one-day camp this weekend in DCU. 

The session is part of Ireland's build up for the Autumn International Series. A total of 36 players have been included with Fryday being one of a handful of uncapped players.

The 36-woman squad, which has a 23-13 split between forwards and backs, boasts a number of experienced internationals including captain Niamh Briggs, winger Alison Miller, out-half Nora Stapleton, second row Marie Louise Reilly, flanker Claire Molloy and prop Ailis Egan.

Speaking ahead of the camp this weekend, Tom Tierney said: "The build-up towards the autumn internationals is well underway. The players have been involved in regional camps since early August and joined up for a one-day camp at the start of September.

"The restructure of the All-Ireland League has also meant that they are playing rugby week in, week out in a competitive environment.

"This Saturday will be another important step as we prepare to face three of the best teams in the world in England, Canada and New Zealand."

Full Squad

Backs (13) -

Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Liz Burke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster)
Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Ulster)
Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/Ulster)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
Sene Naoupu (Harlequins)
Jackie Shiels (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Forwards (23) -

Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster)
Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Grainne Egan (St. Mary's/Connacht)
Paul Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's/Leinster)

Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's/Leinster)
Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/Connacht)
Zoe Grattage (Highfield/Munster)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster)
Claire Molloy (Bristol)
Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Katie Norris (Blackrock/Leinster)
Fiona O'Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Heather O'Brien (Highfield/Munster)
Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians/Connacht)
Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.