Impressive Port Town cruise into last eight

Division 3 Cup 1st Round

Portarlington Town made the trip to Mullingar on Saturday afternoon to take on Division 3 Saturday leaders Grange United in the Division 3 Cup last 16 and came away with a comprehensive victory .

The Port men did start slowly however and were missing four first team regulars which led to the call back of the veteran boys l Stephen Terry, and Colin Lennon who travelled from Limerick on the morning of the game.

Grange had Portarlington on the back foot for the first 15 minutes. Conor Kavangh in the Port goals pulled off a super save from close range and eventually the Port lads came to life.

Pauric Duffy took control of the midfield and began to dictate the pace of the game. His wide ball to Floody drew a foul from the Westmeath right back and Peter O Leary's in swinging free found the head of Richie Reynolds who grabbed his third goal in as many games.

Stephen Terry was then denied by the Grange keeper before Floody again was fouled in the same position and Pauric Duffy narrowly miss the top corner.

Richie Reynolds found himself through on goal but his shot dragged wide and the referee blew for half time.

The second half saw Grange start brightly but any chances created were snuffed out by the Port defence. Again Duffy and Floody took control of the midfield and soon found Reynolds out wide on the left where he was brought down. The resulting free from O'Leary was cleared after a scramble in the box but fell back to his feet. His quick cross found Stephen Flanagn all alone on the right and he calmly slotted by the keeper to make it 2-0. It could have been four or five only for the Grange keeper twice denying Terry soon after.

Manager John O Reilly introduced Steven Lyons,Colin Lennon and Shane McAuley. The substitutes combined with Brendan Maher finding McAuley inside the box . McAuley intelligently controlled it with his chest before tapping by the keeper.

Port Town: Conor Kavanagh,Seanchail O Reilly,Peter O Leary,Stephen Flanagan,Alan Glass,Richie Reynolds,Pauric Duffy,Chris Floody,Brendan Maher, Darragh Lennon and Stephen Terry. Subs: Shane McAuley for Lennon,Steven Lyons for Terry and Colin Lennon for O Reilly.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.