10 Aug 2022

Win for Grennan at fitting tribute to Paddy Larkin

editorial image
By way of outlining the 3000m course for last Thursday’s Paddy Larkin Memorial race, the eighty-seven runners on the start line were jokingly told to ‘follow Catch Grennan’.

By way of outlining the 3000m course for last Thursday’s Paddy Larkin Memorial race, the eighty-seven runners on the start line were jokingly told to ‘follow Catch Grennan’.

This proved to be sound advice as he led all the way to the finish line winning the race in an impressive 9.36. There were some fine displays of running around the figure-of-eight course which took in successive laps of both the tartan and tarmac tracks, with Ritchie Galvin taking second place in 9.54 and third-placed Mark Donegan hot on his heels in 9.56.

The first woman home was Michelle Mullaney in 11.35 with Ann Carroll a close second in 11.45; Nita McLoughlin finished very strongly taking third place in 11.59.

As usual, there was a large turnout for the event as past and present members and their families gathered to pay tribute to Paddy Larkin, one of the founding members of the club. Addressing the runners before the race, Chairman John Cronin noted the special significance of this year’s memorial as the club is set to mark its 60th anniversary on 13th November.

After the race, Fr Ciaran McGovern celebrated mass in the club house to commemorate deceased members of the club, in particular those who had passed away in the last year. The evening was rounded off with refreshments to complete what Fr Kieran described as a fitting tribute: “a great race, mass and a cup of tea”.


Full Results: Catch Grennan 9.36; Ritchie Galvin 9.54; Mark Donegan 9.56; John Harkin 10.04; Dave Fox 10.05; Darren Butler 10.08; Conor Butler 10.21; Jody O’Reilly 10.34; Keith Gorry 10.36; Martin Carroll 10.43; John Monaghan 10.49; Sean Rigney 10.51; John Donegan 10.56; Brian McManus 11.13; Ray Martin 11.18; Shane Dunne 11.25; Thomas Flaherty 11.29; Michelle Mullaney 11.35; Johnny Dunican 11.41; Eugene Mann 11.43; Ivan Dunne 11.44; Ann Carroll 11.45; Marcus Brady 11.46; Ronan Leonard 11.51; David Monaghan 11.52; Nita McLoughlin 11.59; Mary Bracken 12.00; Mary Daly 12.08; Liz Cuskelly 12.10; Cathal Smith 12.26; Leslie Buckley 12.31; Andy O’Grady 12.40; Ger Keyes 12.46; Dan Daly 12.54; Denis Flynn 12.55; Rita Daly 12.59; Maeve Larkin 13.00; Paul Hensey 13.02; Declan Mann 13.03; Declan Rooney 13.04; Elysia McCormack 13.11; Fr Ciaran McGovern 13.25; Declan Lambe 13.28; Michael Carroll 13.28; Leonard Owens 13.29; Charlotte Abbott 13.36; Miriam Minnock 13.46; John McGowan 13.48; Mags Grennan 13.52; Josie Lalor 13.58; Olivia Grant 14.02; Archie McCormack 14.05; Ray Bell 14.11; James Grogan 14.31; Mary Casey 14.35; Sharon Daly 14.37; Janet Stack 14.45; Steve Finneran 14.54; Dorothy Heffernan 14.56; Roger Smith 15.02; Dermot Glynn 15.09; Denis Flynn 15.14; Paula Scott 15.17; Sean Donoghue 15.17; Kevin Beacon 15.19; Hillary Dunican 15.21; Laura Burke 15.23; Carmel Hamill 15.24; Claire McIntyre 15.34; Brendan Spurges 15.40; Sandra Busteed 15.59; Ann Cusack 16.03; S. O’Grady 16.09; Trish Scally 16.14; Aine Treacy 16.19; Mary Fox Mann 16.22; Mary Glennon 16.24; Miriam Brady 16.28; Jim Dolan 16.38; Eileen Curley 17.10; Sean Curley 17.12; Veronica Casey 17.14; Catherine Nolan 17.14; Paula Doherty 17.27; Michael Larkin 17.28; Josie O’Grady 19.05.


Gerry Farnan Cross Country

The country’s top cross country runners at junior, senior and masters levels were in action last Sunday at the Gerry Farnan Cross Country races in the Phoenix Park.

In the Masters Mens race three of our athletes successfully competed for places on the Irish team for the British & Irish Masters Cross Country which will be held in Cardiff next month; John Harkin who was fourth in the o40 category (28.02); John Todd who was second on the o60s (32.32) and Jim Langan who finished third in his o70 age group (24.32). We wish all three the best of luck in Cardiff.

The Senior and Junior races were qualifiers for upcoming European championships where the top four finishers in the senior and juniors races earned their places on the Irish team for next month’s Lorretto Cross Cup in Belgium.

As such, the competition was intense for the men’s five mile race which was won by Portlaoise’s Michael Mulhare in 24.30. Tullamore’s Liam Brady finished in 25th place in a time of 26.32. In the shorter Junior Men’s race Jason Donegan finished in 26th place in 23.32.

Lifford AC’s Ann-Marie McGlynn, who started her running career at Tullamore Harriers, earned her spot on the Irish team with a fourth-place finish in the women’s race which was won by cross country star Fionnula Britton.


Clane Rathcoffey 10k

Dave Murray finished 7th at last Sunday’s 10k in Clane, Co. Kildare in 36.20 while in the women’s race Lavinia Leahy was 6th in 48.21.


Table Quiz

On Wednesday 13th November the club are hosting a Table Quiz in the Tullamore Court Hotel costing €40 for a team of four. All are welcome.


Be Safe Be Seen

Now that the evenings are getting dark please remember to wear hi-vis clothing when running on the roads.




Sun 13th Offaly Intermediate Cross Country

Thurs 17th Paddy Larkin 3k & Mass

Thurs 22nd Winter League Rd 2

Sun 27th Leinster Novice & Masters Cross Country, Dunboyne

Mon 28th Dublin City Marathon



Sun 3rd Offaly Senior Cross Country, Charleville

Sun 10th Leinster Intermediate Cross Country, Adamstown

Sun 17th National Inter-County Cross Country, Santry


A list of AAI-licensed fixtures is available on

Training for adults every Tuesday and Thursday at 6.30pm and Sunday at 8.30am

except on race days. New members always welcome. Please contact Adrian Martin

086-8727311 or Mary Daly 086-1906747 or any club member.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.