Grennan wins Spring Mile

THE 3rd and final round of the Spring League was run off on Tuesday, March 13. A total of 66 athletes lined up for the One Mile event, which was run over two races on the tarmac.

THE 3rd and final round of the Spring League was run off on Tuesday, March 13. A total of 66 athletes lined up for the One Mile event, which was run over two races on the tarmac.

It proved to be a fast and furious race with Catch Grennan posting the fastest time on the night in 4.42. This deems Catch the overall winner with a clean sweep in the three races of the Spring League.

Richie Galvin was 2nd finisher in a time of 4.52, and again the young and promising Jason Donegan had fine race to 3rd in a time of 4.58.

First lady on the night was Pauline Curley who powered to the line in 5.08. Michelle Mullaney (5.37) and Mary Bracken (5.40) were 2nd and 3rd respectively showing improving times each time they compete.

The Mile race is a challenging test but proved most rewarding to many who competed. It was noted that 41 out of the 66 that ran posted times under the 6 minutes.

When the final scores were calculated, Ray Martin and his team was crowned winners of the 2012 Spring League with 2004 points.

Michelle Mullaney’s team was 2nd with 1794 points and Leonard Owens’ team in 3rd place with 1613 points. Rita Daly’s team earned 1360 points.

Murray wins McNamara 5 Mile Race

On Sunday, March 18 the annual McNamara 5mile race took place. 42 runners lined up for the sealed handicap race where all runners start together and their finishing time is modified at the finish according to the handicap each athlete is given.

This year, after the time adjustments, Ray Murray was declared the winner of the McNamara Trophy. Ray has been making remarkable progress since joining the club last year and is a deserving victor. Martina Conlon was 2nd. Joint 3rd prize was awarded to Una Mullen and Veronica Casey.

The race started with two laps of the tarmac track before heading out the Charleville road. Catch Grennan opened up an early lead before leaving the Harriers grounds, and maintained this lead to finish a clear winner in a time of 27.30.

At the turning point at Mucklagh Bridge, Richie Galvin and Eddie Garry were in the chasing group followed closely by Brendan Abbott and John Donegan, Jody O’Reilly, Johnny Feery and Jason Donegan.

Galvin and Garry kept their placings and followed home into 4th place by Jason Donegan. Fastest lady was Mary Bracken (32.57), with a margin of 40 seconds over Michelle Mullaney (33.37). Third lady home was Sinead Rigney in a creditable 34.29.

Race Round Up

Portlaoise 5k: On St Patrick’s Day, four Tullamore Harriers runners competed in the annual Streets of Portlaoise 5k race. Pauline Curley was 1st lady home in a time of 17.30 followed by Jody O’Reilly (17.45). Andy O’Grady and his wife Josie clocked 21.06 and 32.14 respectively.

Craughwell 10 Mile: On Sunday, March 18, Craughwell AC held their third 10mile road race. The event has seen a progressive increase in its popularity and this year 700 athletes lined up. 1st lady home was Pauline Curley who shaved 4 seconds off her own course record with a good finish of 58:55, completing a hat-trick of victories for her.

1st man across the line was Tullamore man Barry Minnock who runs with Rathfarnham AC in a time of 52.36. Other Tullamore Harriers competitors were; Declan Madden (1.02.52) and Tony McCormack (1.03.18).

St Patrick’s Festival 5K: On Sunday, March 18 almost 600 athletes lined up for this highly competitive 5k, run in central Dublin. We were represented by Maire Triona Keane who finished 83rd overall in a time of 18.44 and John Todd who was 2nd o60, and 91st overall in a time of 18.57.

Best Wishes

The club wish both Joe Wrafter and Martin Carroll a speedy recovery and hope to see them back in action very soon.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.