09 Aug 2022

Carberry Wins New Year’s Eve ‘Round The Houses’ race

editorial image
Tullamore Harriers last race of 2013 was well attended despite the blustery weather as the Harriers celebrated New Year’s Eve with the annual Round the Houses ‘Midnight Run’.

Tullamore Harriers last race of 2013 was well attended despite the blustery weather as the Harriers celebrated New Year’s Eve with the annual Round the Houses ‘Midnight Run’.

This race starts in the car park and takes in four loops around Adam villas for a course totalling 4700m and is run as a blind handicap with all runners starting together and handicaps applied to the results. Tommy Carberry emerged as the winner of 2013 race with Christy Donegan second and Tricia Shaw third.

Catch Grennan continued his Christmas winning streak, crossing the line first in 15.39 having established an early lead. Adrian Curley ran very strongly to take second place looking very comfortable as he crossed the line in 15.43. Former Harriers member Anne Marie McGlynn also took part, showing the impressive form that earned her a place on the Irish team for the European Cross Country Championship last month.

Winners: 1st Tommy Carberry; 2nd Christy Donegan; 3rd Tricia Shaw; 4th Sean Rigney; 5th Hillary Duncan; 6th Rory Farrell. Fastest Man: Catch Grennan; Fastest Woman: Mary Bracken.

Full results (actual times shown with net time in brackets): 1st Catch Grennan 15.39 (15.39); 2nd Adrian Curley 15.43 (15.43); 3rd Dave Murray 15.55 (15.25); 4th Mick Murphy 15.59 (15.14); 5th Richie Galvin 16.03 (15.33); 6th Ann Marie McGlynn 16.04 (Guest); 7th Kevin Bracken 16.48 (15.48); 8th Dave Fox 17.07 (16.12); 9th Sean Rigney 17.09 (15.09); 10th Christy Donegan 17.33 (15.03); 11th Johnny Feery 17.47(15.47); 12th Fra Mollen 17.57 (15.27); 13th Pauric Sweeney 18.14 (15.44); 14th Kevin Corrigan 18.17 (15.37); 15th John Donegan 18.27 (15.47); 16th Jack Griffith 18.31(15.31); 17th Rory Farrell 18.42 (15.12); 18th Mary Bracken 18.48 (15.18); 19th Ger Lynam 18. (16.21); 20th Shane Dunne 18.57(16.27); 21st Leonard Owens 19.03 (15.33); 22nd Tom Griffin 19.18 (15.48); 23rd Bazil Cronin 19.21 (16.06); 24th John Leahy 19.36 (16.36); 25th Pat Conlon 19.44 (16.44); 26th Andy O’Grady 19.57 (15.57); 27th Darragh Rigney 20.02 (16.02); 28th Adrian Martin 20.03 (16.03); 29th Shane Kelly 20.14 (15.14); 30th Finnualla Cleary 20.28 (15.28); 31st Maeve Larkin 20.33 (15.53); 32nd Declan Rosney 20.35 (15.20); 33rd Leslie Buckley 20.38 (15.38); 34th Denis Flynn 20.41(15.41); 35th Elysia McCormack 20.43 (15.28); 36th Paul Hensey 20.43 (15.43); 37th Michelle Langan 20.50 (15.50); 38th Mark Conlon 21.09 (16.09); 39th Brigid Fox 21.17 (15.47); 40th Archie McCormack 21.21 (16.06); 41st Lavinia Leahy 21.23 (15.53); 42nd Adrian Larkin 21.30 (16.30); 43rd Charlotte Abbott 21.43 (16.43); 44th Pat Grogan 21.50 (16.20); 45th Enda Rigney 21.56 (16.26); 46th Una Mullen 22.00 (16.30); 47th Tommy Carbury 22.19 (14.49); 48th Mags Grennan 22.27 (15.27); 49th Mary Hussey 22.29 (15.14); 50th Hillary Duncan 22.41 (5.11); 51st Jim Langan 23.37(15.37); 52nd Jane Conlon 23.52 (15.52); 53rd Paul Scott 24.01(16.01); 54th Mary Gorry 24.22 (16.22); 55th Ger McIntyre 24.28 (17.18); 56th Anna Guilfoyle 24.57 (15.57); 57th Tricia Shaw 25.06 (15.06); 58th Michael Kearns 25.34 (16.34); 59th Sandra Busteed 25.43 (15.43); 60th Claire McIntyre 26.00 (17.00); 61st Aisling McCormack 26.01 (16.01); 62nd Ann Cusack 26.03 (15.48); 63rd Mary Glennon 26.05 (16.05); 64th Amy Rosney 29.39 (17.39).


Kilanerin 10k

Mick Murphy was 5th in the Kilanerin 10k in Co. Wexford on 4th January.


BHAA 4 Mile Templeogue

John Todd continued his participation in the BHAA race series on 4th January taking 2nd place in the o60 category in the 4 mile race in Tymon Park, Templeogue. John was 38th overall in a time of 27.12.



Club membership for the 2014 calendar year is now due and needs to be paid within the next two

weeks to facilitate AAI registration. Membership forms are available in the clubhouse.




Sun 19th Leinster Senior Cross Country

Sat 25th National Masters Indoors, AIT International Arena



Sat 1st -Leinster Indoor Relays, AIT International Arena

Sat 16th - Leinster Indoor Senior & Masters, AIT International Arena

Sun 23rd - National Intermediate & Masters Cross Country, Dunboyne


A list of AAI-licensed fixtures is available on Training for adults every Tuesday and Thursday at 6.30pm and Sunday at 8.30am except on race days. New members always welcome. Please contact Adrian Martin 086-8727311 or Mary Daly 086-1906747 or any club member.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.