Paddy Larkin 3K win for Grennan

On Thursday last, a gathering of 77 people lined up on the track in the Harriers Stadium to embark on the Paddy Larkin 3k Memorial race.

On Thursday last, a gathering of 77 people lined up on the track in the Harriers Stadium to embark on the Paddy Larkin 3k Memorial race.

The race incorporates the tartan track in a figure of 8, which is repeated twice, leading back into the stadium to finish. This is a race which attracts members, past members, friends old and new is regarded as a warranted tribute to Paddy and his family. After the race Fr. Kieran McGovern, celebrated Mass to remember our deceased members and friends, followed by refreshments.

This year, Catch Grennan lead the race from the start but with the chasing group of Jason Donegan, Mike Murphy and Richie Galvin never too far back. Catch was the eventual winner in a time of 9.47.

First lady across the line was the young Nicole Cuskelly in 11.27 with Michelle Mullaney 3 seconds back. Some fine runs were recorded by our juvenile athletes with Kevin Bracken in 7th place with a time of 10.23 and Glen Cunningham in 11.07, showing great promise for the future.

OVERALL TIMES; Catch Grennan 9.47, Jason Donegan 9.50, Mick Murphy 9.55, Richie Galvin 9.59, Dave Fox 10.03, Mark Serviss 10.16, Kevin Bracken 10.23, Jody O’Reilly 10.26, Niall Leavy 10.34, Harry Flynn 10.40, Dave Murray 11.03, Glen Cunningham 11.07, Darren Butler 11.11, Philip Serviss 11.11, Ray Martin 11.17, Conal Mahon 11.23, John Monaghan 11.24, Nick Devery 11.26, Nicole Cuskelly 11.27, Michelle Mullaney 11.30, Leonard Owens 11.32, Emily Grennan 11.34, Mary Bracken 11.40, John O’Connell 11.42, Dermot Herlihy 11.48, Mark Donegan 11.49, Marcus Brady 11.51, Ivan Dunne 11.52, Adrian Martin 11.54, Sinead Rigney 11.59, Danny McEvoy 12.07, Damien Minnock 12.09, John Leahy 12.11, Andy O’Grady 12.15, Shane Dunne 12.19, David Monaghan 12.26, Brian O’Connor 12.32, Ger Keyes 12.35, Brendan Kennedy 12.37, Olivia Grant 12.39, Eugene Mann 12.40, Liz Cuskelly 12.42, Dean Claffey 12.47, Kevin Corrigan 12.49, Una Mullen 12.57, Ciaran Leonard 13.02, Martina Conlon 13.15, Nita McLoughlainn 13.23, Niamh McDermott 13.43, Charlotte Abbott 13.44, Tracey Mills 13.50, Josie Lawlor 13.51, Mags Grennan 13.56, Maeve Larkin 14.01, Declan Rosney 14.05, Keelin Guilfoyle 14.09, James Grogan 14.18, Lavinia Leahy 14.36, John Hammill 14.41, John McGowan 14.45, Dorothy Heffernan 14.58, Angela Martin 15.03, Sharon Daly 15.05, Ann Cusack 15.46, Carmel Hamill 16.11, Sandra Busteed 16.20, Miriam Brady 16.21, Frances Neville 16.40, Anna Guilfoyle 10.06, Jim Dolan 17.22, Noel Martin 17.44, Mary Mann 18.01, Josie O’Grady 19.11, Bernie McArdle 19.20, Barbara O’Connell 19.20, Colleen Martin 22.51, Kathleen Larkin. Paula O’Doherty.



The annual Gerry Farnan Cross Open Country races were held in the Phoenix Park, on Sunday last. These races attract a high quality field of athletes and generally marks the start of the cross country season. It also serves as the trial for the Home Countries Cross Country International, this year being held in Northern Ireland in November.

The ladies race, run over 3 miles, was easily won by European Champion, Fionualla Britton and for the first time in a number of years, we didn’t have any members taking part in this trial.

Next up was the men’s race, which was run over 5 miles. Winner of this race was David McCarthy (Waterford AC) in 24.20. First home for Tullamore Harriers was Liam Brady who finished in a fine 12th place in 25.29mins. Liam was 2nd U23 and this secured his place for the McCain Bristol Cross Country event next Sunday, where he will be competing in the senior race (8.8k). He was 2nd in the Junior u20, in this event last year.

Declan Fahy was next home for Tullamore finishing in 27.45 (59th), followed by John Harkin in 27.54 (67th), and Catch Grennan 28.30 (85th). All three had hoped to qualify for the 040 team but unfortunately the standard proved too high on the day. Dave Fox ran in the o35 group finishing in 29.26 (109th), with Jason Donegan who competed in the Junior race crossing the line in 30.45 (127th). Our first qualifier of the day was John Todd who was 3rd in o60, in a time of 32.20. John is delighted with his performance having missed the grade by one place , for the past 2 years. Jim Langan too made the team, - 2nd in o70 age group. (23.53 in the 3 mile race). Richie Faulkner finished in 34.23 (150th).



Best of luck to our members who are taking on the challenge of the Dublin City Marathon on Bank Holiday Monday. A large gang are making the trip and have put in many hours and miles of dedicated training. ; John O’Connell, Fra Mollen, Darren Buter, Ray Martin, Conor Mooney, Ian O’Kelly, Pauline Curley, Rita Daly, Fiona Claffey, Mary McIntyre, Geraldine Fox, Mary Duffy, Christy Donegan, Eugene Mann, Matt Corcoran, Adrian Larkin, Pauric Sweeney, Paul Hensey, Denzil Jacobs, Liam Byrne, Seamus Buckley, Larry Rigney. Best of luck to those who may be secretly training and surprising us on the day in the blue and white vest!


Following our very enjoyable and successful table quiz last week, we wish to thank all those who helped in any way, Mary Troy our Quizmaster, The Court Hotel, our kind generous sponsors and everyone who attended and supported the event.



Sun 28th, Leinster Novice and Masters Cross Country, Avondale , Co Wicklow @ 12md

Mon 29th, Dublin City Marathon


Sun 4th, Offaly Senior and Junior Cross Country, 10am in Charleville

Sun 11th, Leinster Intermediate Cross Country, TBC

Thurs 15th, Winter League round 1, 3k on Tarmac @ 7pm

Thurs 15th – Registration Night

Sun 18th Winter League , round 2, 5k cross country, Charleville, 10am

Sun 25th, National Intercounties Cross Country, Co Meath

Thurs 29th, Winter League, round 3, 3k on Tarmac @ 7pm


Sun 9th, National Novice Cross Country, Adamstown, Co Wexford

Tues 18th, Grand National Club race ‘ 7pm

Christmas Day – Goal Mile

Mon 31st --- Midnight Run @ 12md


Training for adults every Tuesday and Thursday at 6.30pm and Sunday at 8.30am except on race days. New members always welcome. Contact John O’Connell 0879253739 or Mary Daly 0861906747 or any club member.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.