Harkin and Carroll top Harriers Winter League

editorial image
The third and final leg of the Winter League was held last Tuesday evening with a record turnout of 94 runners racing over 3000m on the tarmac track.

The third and final leg of the Winter League was held last Tuesday evening with a record turnout of 94 runners racing over 3000m on the tarmac track.

The frontrunners bunched tightly for the first of the 4.75 laps before Catch Grennan moved away from the field, extending his lead steadily to take victory in 9.36.

In second place was John Harkin (9.46) who is in top form this season while Mick Murphy put in a great run to challenge him, taking third place in 9.48.

Ann Carroll was the first woman home having crusied around the track looking comfortably strong to clock 11.25. Nicole Cuskelly took second place in 11.39 and Aisling Flangan was third in 12.13. The league winners were Team D, captained by Ritchie Galvin and the individual winners are as follows:

Men: 1st John Harkin; 2nd Ritchie Galvin; 3rd Mark Donegan

Women: 1st Ann Carroll; 2nd Jennifer Burke; 3rd Lavinia Leahy


Full Results Round 3:

Catch Grennan 9.36; John Harkin 9.46; Mick Murphy 9.48,

Carthage Grennan 9.36; John Harkin 9.46;Mick Murphy 9.48; Mark Donegan 9.50; Richie Galvin 9.53; Dave Murray 9.55;Dave Fox 9.56; Darren Butler 10.04; Dave Brophy 10.14 Conor Butler 10.27; Martin McManus 10.28; Conor Mooney 10.29; Martin Carroll 10.31; Keith Gorry 10.36; John Donegan 10.38; John Monaghan 10.49; Brian McManus 11.00; Ger Lynam 11.08; Johnny Dunican 11.18; Rory Farrell 11.20; Ann Carroll 11.25;Ivan Dunne 11.35; Nicole Cuskelly 11.39; Adrian Mann 11.41;Ronan Leonard 11.42; Ray Martin 11.43; John Phelan 11.44; Declan Mann 11.44;Matt Corcoran 11.47; David Monaghan 11.49; Ian O’Kelly 11.56; Padraic Sweeney 11.57; Sean Keane 11.57; Basil Cronin 12.07; Shane Dunne 12.09; Aisling Flanagan 12.13; Liz Cuskelly 12.15; Gabriel Keyes 12.23; Matt McCormack 12.24; Andy O’Grady 12.28; Tony Keegan 12.31; Eugene Mann 12.33; Leonard Owens 12.33; Lavinia Leahy 12.34; Jennifer Burke 12.35; Mary Daly 12.35; Archie McCormack 12.55; Declan Rosney 12.5; Alan Daly 12.59; Alisya McCormack 13.00; Declan Lambe 13.01; Denis Flynn 13.03; Miriam Minnock 13.05; Declan Kelly 13.07; Rita Daly 13.07; Paul Hensey 13.09; Niamh McDermott 13.20; Charlotte Abbott 13.21; Hillary O’Shea 13.23; John McGowan 13.30; Mags Grennan 13.36; Niall Smith 13.37; Joe Owens 13.41; Bridget Fox 13.43; Jane Conlon 13.59; Ray Bell 14.05; Tommy Carberry 14.10; Sharon Larkin 14.12; Mary Casey 14.18; T.J. Moore 14.31; Elaine Murphy 14.36; Stephen Finneran 14.38; Hillary Duncan 14.39; Dorothy Heffernan 14.43; Edel Brady 14.48; Laura Burke 15.00; Paula Scott 15.06; Ed Kelly 15.08; Kevin Beacon 15.10; Mary Gorry 15.11; Carmel Hammill 15.17; Trish Shaw 15.33; Sandra Busteed 15.38; Cathriona Nolan 15.43; Ann Cusack 15.45; Una Finneran 15.54; Miriam Brady 15.58; Mary Glennon 16.11; Michael Hanlon 16.28; Aisling McCormack 16.30;Angela Martin 16.33; Mary Fox 17.02; Jim Dolan 17.49; Marie Thompson 17.59

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.