26 Jun 2022

Nominations sought for Offaly Person of the Year

The Offaly Association, Dublin has launched the Offaly Person of the Year Award for 2012.

The Offaly Association, Dublin has launched the Offaly Person of the Year Award for 2012.

Offaly people are being asked to nominate individuals in the community whom they consider to have made outstanding contribution in one or more of the following fields. Academic, Civic, Cultural, Social, Sport.

Nominations for the award are invited from the people of Offaly through coupons placed in the local papers and a specially elected committee of the Association will choose the winner. The winner will be announced in Spring 2013 and will receive the award at our annual dinner shortly afterwards.

Tickets for the annual dinner dance will be available in early January and can be ordered through any member of the committee.
Since this event was launched in 1988 the award has grown in importance and prestige and given the standard of nominations, to be chosen is a major achievement.


The 2012 Offaly Person of the Year will join the following roll of honour:


1988 - John Dowling RIP

1989 - Fr Tom Scully

1990 - Eddie Joe Dooley RIP

1991 - Paddy Larkin RIP

1992 - Brian Cowen

1993 - Michael Byrne,

1994 - Jane Feehan

1995 - James Nolan

1996 - Kieran Keenaghan

1997 - Br Denis Minehane

1998 - Tom Parlon

1999 - Matt Connor

2000 - Brian Whelahan

2001 - Dr Philip Brady

2002 - Maura Allen and John Horan

2003 - Seamus Carroll

2004 - Miriam O’Callaghan

2005 - Tom and Paul Mangan

2006 - Sr Oliver Wrafter

2007 - Stephen Grant

2008 - Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann Organising Committee (Attracta Brady, Karen O’Grady, Tom Bourke, Mary Berry-O’Connell & Louis O’Dwyer)

2009 - Shane Lowry

2010 - Darren Hanniffy and Ronan Scully

2011 - Paddy Fenning

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.