05 Jul 2022

Transition Year celebrations at Coláiste Íosagáin

Transition Year end of year celebrations were held in Coláiste Íosagáin, Portarlington and began with Mock Trials.

Transition Year end of year celebrations were held in Coláiste Íosagáin, Portarlington and began with Mock Trials.

Brian Hutchinson, Chairperson of the Board of Management acted as judge, as the students ably guided by their teacher, Ms Sugrue, acted out the Frankie Huntington murder trial. It was very enjoyable as the parents acted as jurors and found the defendant not guilty. All then retired to Room 23 for a wonderful night of fun and entertainment.

Ms M Nolan, TY co-ordinator thanked all the partners in education for their help and support and this was followed by a speech from every student, which were very entertaining, as the students recounted their year of activities, learning and fun.

€420 was presented to Dirty Old Towns as a result of The Great Portarlington Bake Off held during the year when students made hundreds of cup cakes and sold them and also participated in the Dirty Old Towns TV show.

A year full of adventure and excitement was recounted as students enthused about their contributions, experiences and achievements. Following the speeches prizes were presented.

The prize for Best Portfolio went to Shauna McNamara while the Academic Excellence prize went to Cian Dunne.

The award for Acadenic Recognition went to Airinas Dedele while the Enterprise Award went to Lauren Byrne and Rachael Pender.

The Geraldine Walton Award was presented to Stephen Hughes and Michelle Murphy and the Bank of Ireland Student of the Year Award was given to Niamh Hogan

The biggest surprise of the night came when Niall Cole from Rehab Care announced that the Transition Year Mini Company, which was the talent show, held at Christmas to raise funds and awareness for Rehab Care scooped first prize in the Student for Change Competition. The students presented The Rehab Group with a contribution of €1.050.

The evening concluded with refreshments and musical entertainment from a newly formed band Misadventure consisting of four TY students Stephen Hughes, Darragh Nerney, Mark Garry and Glen Mitchell.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.