22 Jan 2022

Six Offaly Students awarded AIT Scholarships of Excellence for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Six Offaly Students wwarded AIT Scholarships of Excellence for Outstanding Academic Achievement

Six Offaly Students have been Awarded AIT Scholarships of Excellence for Outstanding Academic Achievement.


A total of thirty students received awards at Athlone Institute of Technology’s Scholarship of Excellence ceremony, the highest number of recipients since the awards’ inauguration four years ago.

Scholarships of Excellence are conferred upon first-year students who have distinguished themselves academically at second level, achieving more than 500 points in their Leaving Certificate exams.

Achieving such high results puts such students into the top 20% of CAO applicants and demonstrates a high level of commitment and dedication to their studies.

Congratulating the students on their scholastic achievement, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Registry Frances O’Connell said:

“We are delighted to honour the highest number of students receiving a scholarship of excellence award this year. These 30 students have entered a range of degree programmes across all our faculties, a place on which is highly demanded by our CAO applicants annually.

“Thereafter, these awardees will be highly sought as graduates by a wide range of employers and enterprises in the region and beyond or will have the opportunity to continue critical, cutting edge research in our technological university.

“We look forward to maintaining our recognition of scholarly excellence into the future as a technological university by continuing to formally recognise the high achievement of second-level students from our second level schools right across the Midlands and Mid-West regions and their performance on their Leaving Certificate examination.”

AIT President Professor Ciarán Ó Catháin added that their accomplishment demonstrated not only academic achievement but also “adaptability and resilience as you navigated many challenges this past year”.

He explained that this fortitude would prove useful as students went further “down the path of life” and said that he hoped that receiving a Scholarship of Excellence would encourage them to continue excelling in their chosen disciplines.

Scholarship of Excellence recipients receive a €500 bursary and a yearly gym membership while their associated secondary school is awarded a commemorative plaque with the recipient’s name.

This year marks AIT’s 50th anniversary as an institute, and it currently stands as Ireland’s top-ranked institute of technology, sitting seventh nationally on the higher education leader board of all universities and institutes of technology.

Just last week, AIT was designated as Ireland’s third technological university with its consortium partners, LIT. The new university is expected to be in-situ before the end of the year.

Watch the virtual Scholarship of Excellence ceremony here:

Scholarship of Excellence Recipients 2020/21

Jane Horan, Pharmacy Technician, Convent of Mercy, Roscommon
Eimear Smyth Veterinary Nursing, Breifne College, Cootehill
Shane Coughlan, Pharmaceutical Sciences (Drug Development and Analysis), Gallen Community School, Ferbane
Lauryn McKeon, General Nursing, Cnoc Mhuire, Granard
Alisa Murphy, General Nursing, Gallen Community School, Ferbane
Aoife Doyle, General Nursing, Vocational School, Longwood
Claudia Whelehan, Psychiatric Nursing, St Joseph's Secondary School, Rochfortbridge
Hannah McManus, Nutrition and Health Science, Clonaslee College, Clonaslee
Elora Mahon, Sports Science with Exercise Physiology, Vocational School, Athenry
Vasilena Simidchieva, Biotechnology, Tullamore College, Riverside, Tullamore
Keelan Gallagher, Microbiology, Roscommon Community College, Lisnamult
Sean O Neill, Microbiology, Cnoc Mhuire, Granard
Laura Gibney, Microbiology, Sacred Heart Secondary School, Drogheda
Kyle Doughty, Pharmaceutical Sciences, St. Clare's College, Ballyjamesduff
Teegan Murphy, Athletic and Rehabilitation Therapy, Cnoc Mhuire, Granard
Colin Donohue, Athletic and Rehabilitation Therapy, St. Joseph's College, Garbally, Ballinasloe
Rachel Boner, Athletic and Rehabilitation Therapy, Gairmschil Mhic Diarmada, Arranmore
Niamh Kenny, Applied Psychology, Athlone Community College, Athlone
Sarah McTiernan, Applied Psychology, Convent of Mercy, Roscommon
Besliu Steven, Applied Psychology, Community College, Galway
Bryan Hughes, Applied Psychology, Marist College, Athlone
Jack Norton, Applied Psychology, Marist College, Athlone
Andrew Chambers, Automation and Robotics, Wilson's Hospital, Heathland
Bartosz Kazimierczak, Software Design in Artificial Intelligence for Cloud Computing, Carrigallen Vocational School, Carrigallen
Artur Stopka, Mechanical and Polymer Engineering, Tullamore College, Riverside, Tullamore
Jessica Dias, Business, Banagher College, Banagher
Charlotte Healy, Business, Gallen Community School, Ferbane
Sean Mulledy, Accounting, Mercy Secondary School, Ballymahon
Krisjanis Venckus, Accounting, St Clare's College, Ballyjamesduff

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.