06 Oct 2022

WATCH: Iconic Newspapers 2021 GAA Hurling Season Preview podcast

WATCH: Iconic Newspapers 2021 GAA Hurling Season Preview podcast

WATCH: Iconic Newspapers 2021 GAA Hurling Season Preview podcast

The waiting game is almost over with competitive intercounty hurling on the horizon once more after a long Covid-19 layoff. Iconic Newspapers, of which the Offaly Express, Tullamore Tribune and Midland Tribune are a part, has produced a pullout publication which is in papers and on the shelves this week. 

The Iconic group has produced a hurling season preview podcast on the back of that publication and you can listen to it below and gear up for the season ahead with Limerick as defending champions. Featured on the podcast are a selection of Iconic's sports editors and reporters, including Noel Dundon (Tipperary Star/, Colm Kinsella (Limerick Leader), Brian Lowry (Leinster Express) and Robert Cribbin (Kilkenny People). Limerick Leader editor Donn O'Sullivan is the host.


The 2021 Allianz Hurling League kickstarts the hurling season for 2021 this weekend with the All-Ireland Championships slated for the summer months.


2021 Liam MacCarthy Cup

There will be a provincial knock-out championship with back-door qualifiers like there was in 2020, but now also with the introduction of relegation to the Joe McDonagh Cup.

There will be a preliminary round in the qualifiers between the two defeated quarter-final team in Leinster with the winners progressing to Round 1 of the Qualifiers and the losers relegated to the Joe McDonagh Cup in 2022.

Competing counties

Munster: Limerick, Waterford, Tipperary, Clare, Cork.

Leinster: Kilkenny, Galway, Wexford, Dublin, Laois, Antrim.

2021 Joe McDonagh Cup

The six competing teams will be split into two Round Robin groups with each team playing one home and one away match. The top team in each group advance to the Final which will be played on Saturday, July 17, the same day as the Leinster SHC Final, and broadcast live on TV.

The Joe McDonagh Cup winners are promoted in 2021 but do not have a back door into the Liam MacCarthy Cup.

If Kerry win the 2021 Joe McDonagh Cup they will play in Leinster in 2022 and replace the team relegated from the Leinster Championship this year.

Competing counties: Kerry, Westmeath, Meath, Carlow, Kildare, Down.

2021 Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard, and Lory Meagher Cups

The only change to what was announced in December is that British based teams will not be involved. The British based teams will begin the 2022 season in the same Cup they were due to play in in 2021. The three competitions will be played on the following basis.

Two sides to the draw:

Group A - 3 teams drawn on an open draw basis (each team plays 2 games)

Group B - Two teams play in one fixture

Quarter-Final/Relegation play-off: Bottom team from A v Loser of B (loser relegated – exception: Meagher Cup)

Semi Finals: Top 2 teams from Group A are drawn to play against Winner of Group B and Winner of Quarter Final/Relegation play-off

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.