23 May 2022

AT A GLANCE: Who is likely to get elected from your area in the Offaly elections?

AT A GLANCE: Who is likely to get elected from your area in the Offaly elections?

AT A GLANCE: Who is likely to get elected from your area in the Offaly elections?

UPDATE - Get the very latest, including the results of the first count in Offaly on our dedicated live blog here.


Frank Moran is mopping up votes in Clara in the absence of long-time councillor Dervill Dolan and will keep his seat. His Fianna Fail colleague Tony McCormack, Danny Owens and Declan Harvey all look set to be re-elected, maintaining four seats for the party in Tullamore.

It's closer for the others, although Fine Gael newcomer Neil Feighery is tallying very well, as is food poverty campaigner Ken Smollen. Sean O'Brien is also in a strong position to take the seventh seat. 

In the absence of 2014 poll-topper Brendan Killeavy in Tullamore, Sinn Féin have been wiped out with his effective replacement on the ballot, Anne Marie Ennis, languishing at the bottom of tallies.

Deirdre Fox is close enough to mount a challenge with questions hanging over the transfer potential of Ken Smollen and Sean O'Brien, although it's likely at least one of those two will be elected, if not both if they can stay ahead of Fox.
There have been some huge votes in Tullamore. Here is the first tally:

BRACKEN 519, ENNIS 287, FEIGHERY 1225, FOX 725, GALVIN 622, 1418, McCORMACK 1044, MORAN 1539, O'BRIEN 889, OWENS 1174, SMOLLEN 1061, WESTMAN 541

PREDICTION: Frank Moran (FF), Declan Harvey (FF), Tony McCormack (FF), Neil Feighery (FG), Danny Owens (FF), Ken Smollen (IDP) and Sean O'Brien (IND)


In the Edenderry electoral area, Eddie Fitzpatrick (FF) is strong in is heartland around Portarlington and that will be enough to see him top the poll. John Foley is particularly strong in Edenderry with almost 25% of the vote.

They are followed by a cluster of candidates, including Robert McDermott, Cllr Noel Cribbin, Fergus McDonnell, Christine Traynor, Alan Davy and Cllr Liam Quinn hovering between 7-12% each.

Cllr Cribbin and Cllr Quinn look strong enough in mid-afternoon tallies to suggest they'll follow Fitzpatrick and Foley into the Offaly County Council chamber as incumbents. 

It gets interesting in the race for the final two seats with Alan Davy (SF), Fergus McDonnell (IND), Pippa Hackett (GP) and Robert McDermott (FF) set for a dogfight. Davy looks vulnerable for Sinn Féin, who are not particularly transfer-friendly in the area. 

Fergus McDonnell should transfer well on the back of Noel Cribbin and John Foley, but the progress of Pippa Hackett will be watched with interest as she is nestled in the chasing pack. Geographically at least, she could pick up transfer from poll-topper Eddie Fitzpatrick. It could be extremely close with Robert McDermott also polling better than expected.

This is the first full tally from Edenderry:

Cribbin 780, Daly 474, Davy 579, Fitzpatrick 1684, Foley 1453, Hackett 574, McDermott 659, McDonnell 524, Quinn 906, Traynor 442. 

PREDICTION: John Foley (IND), Eddie Fitzpatrick (FF), Noel Cribbin (FG), Liam Quinn (FG), Fergus McDonnell (IND) and Robert McDermott (FF).


The top of the leaderboard in Birr is looking clearcut with Cllrs John Leahy (REN), Eamon Dooley (FF), John Carroll (IND), Peter Ormond (FF) and John Clendennen (FG) set for re-election.

Sinn Féin will be hoping Sean Maher can hold onto his seat here to avoid a potential total wipeout from Offaly County Council. They won three seats back in 2014. 

It looks unlikely after he tallied with just over 500 first preference votes. Hughie Egan has done well and he will be in the mix for the final seat along with Bernie Fanneran. 

A lot here will depend on John Leahy's transfers while John Clendennen's election will hand Hughie Egan a boost and Eamon Dooley's helping Bernie Fanneran in the battle for that last seat. 

Here is the state of play in Birr in the battle for six seats according to the first full tally:


PREDICTION: John Leahy (REN), Peter Ormond (FF), John Clendennen (FG), Eamon Dooley (FF), John Carroll (IND) and Hughie Egan (FG) or Bernie Fanneran (FF). 

Follow minute-by-minute updates from the count centre in Mucklagh on our dedicated live blog.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.