Search our Archive

Ferbane reach Offaly Senior Football Final with impressive win over Tullamore

Ferbane reach Offaly Senior Football Final with impressive win over Tullamore

Tullamore Court Hotel Offaly Senior Football Semi-Final

Ferbane 3-10
Tullamore 1-10

After a wait of 19 years, 11 times county champions Ferbane will feature in this year's Offaly Senior Football Final after an impressive win over a fancied Tullamore side on Sunday afternoon.

Leading by 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time, Ferbane blitzed their opponents with three second-half goals to secure a spot in the decider against Rhode.

Jack Clancy, Shane Nally and David Cox got the goals that put Ferbane 11 points clear entering the final ten minutes. Tullamore did hit 1-3 without reply to get back within five but the deficit was too much to overcome as Ferbane advanced.

Playing with the wind in the first-half, Ferbane opened up an early 0-5 to 0-2 lead with Oisin Kelly (2), Jack Cox, Joe Maher and David Cox on target.

Michael Brazil and Shane Dooley got Tullamore's early scores and Dooley almost levelled matters but he was denied by Kevin Sammon in the Ferbane goal.
Ferbane had a chance to extend their lead from the penalty spot but Joe Maher missed the target.
The sides exchanged two points apiece but Shane Dooley reduced the gap to two before the break with his third point of the half.
Leading by 0-7 to 0-5 at the break, Ferbane built their advantage with Shane Nally and Oisín Kelly on target and they jumped further ahead with a goal from Jack Clancy after 38 minutes.

Michael Brazil pulled one point back for Tullamore but Ferbane continued to press forward and hit a second goal midway through the half with Aidan Keeneghan setting up Shane Nally who finished to the net.

That left Ferbane 2-9 to 0-6 ahead and while Shane Dooley responded with a point for Tullamore, Ferbane hit back with a third goal, this time from David Cox putting 11 points between the sides with under ten minutes remaining.

Tullamore did rally with points from John Kavanagh (2) and Shane Dooley before Adam Shelly hit a late consolation goal to get his side back within five in injury-time.

Time was against Tullamore however and Ferbane sealed their spot in the final with a point from Joe Maher ending a 19 year wait since 1997 for a Senior Football Final appearance.

Ferbane: Kevin Sammon, Stephen Wren, Colin Egan, Jack Egan, Brian Grehan, Leon Fox, James Nally, Kieran McManus, Kevin Nugent, Oisín Kelly 0-2, Shane Nally 1-2 (0-1f), David Cox 1-2, Joseph Maher 0-2 (0-1f), Aidan Keenaghan, Jack Clancy 1-2 Subs: Darragh Keenaghan for Brian Grehan, Aaron McDonagh for Kevin Nugent, Conor Lowry for James Nally, Ciaran Cahill for Aidan Keenaghan

Tullamore: Gavin Shiels, Dean Carroll, Paul McConway, Patrick Robillard, Kevin O’Brien, Ciaran Moloney, Michael Brazil 0-2, John Kavanagh 0-2, Jonathan O’Donoghue, Brian Hogan, Nigel Bracken, Declan Hogan, Aaron Hensey, Shane Dooley 0-5 (0-1f, 0-1 65’), Adam Shelly 1-1 Subs:  James Keane for Brian Hogan, Daire Foley for Ciaran Moloney
Ref: Fergal Smyth

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.