04 Dec 2021

MATCH REPORT: Cynoc's goals key as Ferbane outfit claim Cumann na mBunscol title

They battled it out with Mucklagh

3:30 p.m. Girls Football Group A Final (Wednesday, May 16) - Mucklagh N.S. vs St. Cynoc's N.S. Ferbane

Mucklagh N.S 0-8

St. Cynoc's, Ferbane 3-6

This was a fierce contest from the first minute with a real midfield battle taking hold for the first half. Aine Maher got Cynoc's off to the perfect start with a point in the first minute but it was Mucklagh who then took a hold of the scoreboard.

Ellen Dolan hit four in a row for Colman's during a brilliant spell between the 8th and 20th minutes. They looked in command but the game itself was still on an even keel and Cynoc's were creating chances.

They were rewarded on the 21-minute mark with a goal from Niamh Johnson, an important score that reduced the deficit to just two points. Dolan once more pushed the lead out for Mucklagh before Aine Maher goaled directly from a free for the Ferbane school. She followed that will a pointed free, and with goals worth two points, that left the sides level at half-time, 2-2 to 0-6.

Sarah Flynn resumed Cynoc's scoring charge early in the second half with a well taken free before Dolan raised yet another white flag. Aine Maher and Sarah Flynn were taking hold in midfield and Mucklagh were finding possession hard to come by.

They did get a point through Ellen Dolan but then Cynoc's really took over. They put the game beyond their opponents between the 37th and 39th minute with three unanswered scores, a point apiece from Ella Spillane and Aine Maher and a goal from Niamh Johnson.

Clodagh Power got the last score of the game for Mucklagh but it wasn't enough as Ferbane's finest, Cynoc's won out on a 3-6 to 0-8 scoreline.

Teams and Scorers:

St. Cynoc’s National School Ferbane: Skye Hynes, Meadhbh Keenaghan, Hannah Connon, Sophie McLoughlin, Hannah Flynn, Carol Anderson, Ella Spillane (0-1), Sarah Flynn (0-1), Niamh Johnson (2-0), Áine Maher (1-4), Ellagh D’Arcy, Mary Coughlan, Emily Flynn

Subs: Megan Dunican, Laura Spillane, Jenna Hesketh, Abi Sheed, Libby Daly, Zoe Dunican, Shauna Buckley, Valene Rigney, Ciara Molloy, Aisling Egan, Orla Moran, Jasmine Walsh, Rachel Doorley, Beatriz Conrado Lima

St Colman’s National School, Mucklagh: Sarah O’ Rourke, Orla Bryant, Sarah Ryan, Nicole Merriman, Sophie Thornton, Anna Curry, Ellen Dolan (0-7), Emily Cunningham, Meabh Eager, Clodagh Power (0-1), Caoimhe Gillespie, Shauna Murphy, Aoibhín Mc Donagh

Subs: Ciara Burgoyne, Lauren Shortall, Sophie Hamill, Eimear Gillespie, Leighanna Fogarty, Lauren Delaney, Aoife Burgoyne, Holly Burns, Gráinne Cosgrave, Éabha O’ Shea, Meabh Mc Donagh

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.