MATCH REPORT: Clonbullogue cruise to Cumann na mBunscol title over Daingean

A huge team effort from Clonbullogue

MATCH REPORT: Clonbullogue cruise to Cumann na mBunscoil title over Daingean

MATCH REPORT: Clonbullogue cruise to Cumann na mBunscoil title over Daingean

11:45 am (Wednesday) Boys Football Group C Final Clonbullogue N.S vs Daingean N.S.

Clonbullogue N.S 4-15

Daingean N.S 0-8

Clonbullogue literally rocketed to the front in this game with Diarmaid O'Neill scoring a goal from long range and Cillian Wallace, Adam Quinn and Kevin Dempsey following up with early points.

An Aaron Longworth free stemmed the tide for Daingean before Kevin Dempsey raised another white flag, putting Clonbullogue 1-4 to 0-1 in front on the 14-minute mark.

Shane Marsden and Aaron Longworth then hit back-to-back points for Daingean but Ronan O'Neill kept Clonbullogue out in front. Another Longworth free put just three between them again but Clonbullouge were not done with their first half scoring.

Adam Quinn struck late in the half with a goal and a point to put daylight between the teams. Clonbullogue led 2-6 to 0-4 at half-time.

Clonbullogue were all but out of sight early in the second half as Cillian Wallace and Kevin Dempsey fired over early points. Ryan Kellaghan hit back but Wallace then hit two without reply to make it 2-10 to 0-5 ten minutes into the second half.

Shane Marsden raised two white flags in reply for Daingean but Clonbullogue then went on a rampage. They hit 2-4 without reply during a powerful spell that included a goal for Diarmaid O'Neill and 1-4 in seven minutes from the impressive Adam Quinn.

Shane Hensey got a late point for Daingean while Ronan O'Neill had the final say with a point for Clonbullogue, putting the polish on a 4-15 to 0-8 win for his school.

Teams and scorers:

Daingean National School: Charlie Burns, Cormac Whittle, Adam Kellaghan, Tiernan Marsh, Shane Marsden (0-3), Kyle O’ Reilly, Jack Hanlon, Ryan Kellaghan (0-1), Shayne Murphy, Aaron Longworth (0-3), Finn Byrne, Shane Hensey (0-1), Adam O’ Neill

Subs: Oisin Delaney, Adam Nolan, Warren Geoghegan, Shane Casey, Kieran Barry, Daire Smyth, MJ Darby, Shane Lawless

Clonbullogue N.S: Billie McEvoy, Seán Donegan, Seán Moran, Oisín Dempsey, Cian Crampton, Liam Hanley, Cillian Wallace (0-4), Diarmaid O'Neill (2-0), Ronan O'Neill (0-2), Kevin Dempsey (0-4), Stephen Bracken, Adam Quinn (2-5), Aaron Daly

Subs: James Moran, Robert Lennon, Tristan Merrigan, Tommy Burns, Adam Murray, Alex McCabe-Comerford, Alan McEvoy, Tom Hynan, Ross Quinn, Jamie Connolly-Bracken, Cristóir McIntyre, Jack Furey, Jay McAnulty

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.