Tullamore school claim Leinster title after battle in Portlaoise

Colaiste Choilm are Leinster champions

Tullamore school claim Leinster title after battle in Portlaoise

Kevin McDermott picks up the man of the match award - Pic: Johnno Kinahan/Colaiste Choilm - Facebook

Mark Dillon was the goal-getting hero late on as Tullamore's Colaiste Choilm surged to a 2-12 to 2-8 victory in the Top Oil Leinster Post Primary Schools Senior Hurling “B” Final. 

The game took place in the GAA centre behind O'Moore Park in Portlaoise at 2pm on Thursday and Colaiste Choilm fielded a formidable looking team. 

Brian Duignan, son of Offaly legend Michael Duignan, started at centre-forward, one of six Ballinamere-Durrow representatives in the starting team. 

SEE ALSO: Gallen march on for Offaly after North Leinster title win

He was one of the early scorers for the Tullamore team as the they traded scores with their opponents from Colaiste Eoin in Dublin. It was 0-2 apiece after just five minutes, but the early breakthrough came through the stick of full-forward Billy Fogarty after just 15 minutes. 

However, the Dublin side were not to be dismissed and within ten minutes they had turned it around with two goals of their own, putting them into a 2-5 to 1-4 lead with less than 25 minutes played. Brian Duignan grabbed his third point of the day in a mini run from Colaiste Choilm as they brought it back to 2-5 to 1-7 at half time. 

The teams once again started the second half by trading scores, but Brian Duignan was cutting an imposing figure and by the 43rd minute, he had bagged his fifth point of the game, making it a two-point game, 2-8 to 1-9. 

As time ticked away, up stepped midfield maestro Emmet Curley to score two incredible points from long range to inject the life needed in the Colaiste Choilm fightback. 

The Offaly school were finding their range and soon found themselves ahead, with Brian Duignan once again notching another white flag with 53 minutes played, leaving the score at 1-12 to 2-7.

Colaiste Eoin replied with a point of their own to make the deficit the minimum before Na Fianna's Mark Dillon came forward to strike on goal. The net billowed and the game was effectively over. The Tullamore school held their nerve and soon after the ref sounded the full-time whistle. 

Ballinamere-Durrow forward Kevin McDermot picked up the man of the match award as Cathal O'Meara lifted the Leinster B hurling title aloft.

Colaiste Choilm Team: Conor Brophill, Diarmuid Egan, Ciaran Burke, Sean Beatty, Jack O'Brien, Luke Egan, Ross Ravenhill, Cathal O'Meara, Emmet Curley, Kevin McDermott, Brian Duignan, Cathal Brady, Aaron Flanagan, Billy Fogarty, Mark Dillon

Subs: Mark Troy, Barry Cleary, Stephen Fitzgerald, Caolan Flanagan, Conor Doran, Ciaran Egan, Conor Flynn, Luke Wyer, Patrick Kelly

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.