Offaly welcome All-Ireland champions to O'Connor Park in 2018 Hurling Championship

The new round robin phase has sparked controversy

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Offaly Hurling

Offaly's Allianz Hurling League fixture released

Offaly will welcome All-Ireland champions Galway to Bord na Mona O'Connor Park in the opening round of the new Leinster Hurling Championship format in 2018.

2018 marks the first year of the new round robin format for the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship, in which five teams (Offaly, Galway, Wexford, Kilkenny and Dublin) will face of against each other with a mixture of home and away fixtures.

Each team will get four fixtures at this stage, two at home and two away.

As well as Galway on Day 1, Offaly will be at home again in Round 3 when they welcome Davy Fitzgerald's Wexford side to Tullamore.

Their away games come against Kilkenny in Round 2 and Dublin in Round 4. 

The top two teams in this group will face off in the 2018 Leinster Final. The bottom placed team will be relegated to the tier 2 competition, which includes the likes of Carlow, Kerry, Laois, Kerry, Antrim and Westmeath.

A similar format is also in place for Munster in 2018. 

If you have a story for us, sports news, an event happening in your area, or if you want to submit pictures or videos, contact the Offaly Express team via email to, or through our Facebook.