St Rynagh's Gary Kelly named Offaly Senior Hurler of the Year

Joachim Kelly to be inducted into Offaly Hurling Hall of Fame

Offaly Express Reporter


Offaly Express Reporter


St Rynagh's Gary Kelly named Offaly Senior Hurler of the Year

Joachim Kelly

St Rynagh's Gary Kelly has been selected as the Offaly Senior Hurler of the Year for 2016. 

St Rynagh's were crowned Offaly Senior Hurling Champions this year after a 23 year drought will Kelly playing a key part in bringing the trophy back to the club.

Lusmagh’s Joachim Kelly will the latest inductee into the Bridge House Hotel, Offaly Hurling Hall of Fame at the awards ceremony in the Bridge House Hotel on January 13.

SEE ALSO: Niall McNamee named Offaly Senior Footballer of the year again

Joachim played for Offaly from 1974 until 1993. In all Joachim made a record 171 League and Championship appearances during a glittering career which saw him win two All-Ireland Medals, seven Leinster Senior Medals and two All-Star Awards while he also won a coveted Offaly Senior Championship medal with Lusmagh in 1989

There is double reason for celebration for Clodiagh Gaels with Liam Langton picking up the Intermediate Award and his club mate Michael Monaghan picking up the Junior Award. 

There is also double reason for celebration for Shinrone with Conor Doughan claiming the U-21 prize and Michaela Morkan claiming the camogie prize.

Sean Duignan form Ballinamere/Durrow is the Minor hurling recipient while Clara's Brian Gavin is the unsurprising choice for the hurling referee.

The Full list of Hurling Recipients is:

Senior: Gary Kelly (St Rynagh’s)

Intermediate: Liam Langton (Clodiagh Gaels)

Junior Hurling: Michael Monaghan (Clodiagh Gaels)

U21 Hurling: Conor Doughan (Shinrone)

Minor Hurling: Sean Duignan (Ballinamere/Durrow)

Camogie: Michaela Morkan (Shinrone)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Clara)