Last three championship meetings between Offaly and Wexford

WEXFORD have held the whip hand over Offaly in recent championship meetings winning the last three encounters with the most recent victory coming in the 2009 quarter-final in glorious sunshine in Wexford Park.

WEXFORD have held the whip hand over Offaly in recent championship meetings winning the last three encounters with the most recent victory coming in the 2009 quarter-final in glorious sunshine in Wexford Park.

Wexford 2-17

Offaly 0-16

Wexford survived a late Offaly rally in glorious sunshine in Wexford Park to advance to the semi-final of the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship.

Stephen Banville played a major role in this win, scoring 2-2 from play. His second goal arrived not long after returning to his favoured spot and it finally put the nail in the Faithful coffin.

Offaly also missed two penalties though, with Malachy Travers stopping Daniel Currams’ shot, before Travers joined forces with Damien Fitzhenry to deny Carroll from another penalty on the stroke of time. Offaly had got to within a goal thanks to five consecutive points, the pick from Rory Hanniffy, but Banville extinguished their hopes in clinical fashion with his second goal.

Wexford: D Fitzhenry; M Travers, P Roche, D O’Connor; M Jacob, R Kehoe, C Kenny; P Atkinson, D Lyng 0-7 (0-4f); A Shore 0-1, T Waters 0-2, R Jacob 0-2; S Doyle 0-2, S Banville 2-2, D Redmond 0-1. Subs: P Carley for Redmond (62mins), W Doran for R Jacob (70mins).

Offaly: B Mullins; D Franks, D Kenny, P Cleary; J Rigney, G Oakley, R Hanniffy 0-1; K Brady 0-2, B Murphy 0-2; B Carroll 0-3 (0-2f), J Brady, D Molloy; S Dooley 0-4, D Currams 0-1, J Bergin 0-2. Subs: C Parlon for J Brady (45mins), D Horan 0-1 for Currams (52mins), C Mahon for Molloy (52mins).

Leinster SHC Final 2004

Wexford 2-12

Offaly 1-11

FOUR top class first half saves by Wexford goalkeeper Damien Fitzhenry were enough to wreck Offaly’s dream of capturing their tenth Leinster senior hurling crown at Croke Park on Sunday, July 4, 2004.

46,820 watched as wind aided Offaly dominated the opening half however, their single point interval advantage of 0-8 to 1-4 was a smaller lead than their efforts deserved.

If Offaly had taken their goal chances they could have been ten points ahead but that was not to be the case. The concluding 35 minutes saw Wexford gain the upper hand and goals from Paul Carley and Michael Jacob did the trick for Wexford.

Offaly: Brian Mullins; Barry Teehan, Ger Oakley, David Franks; Niall Claffey, Brian Whelahan, Colm Cassidy (0-1); Michael Cordial (0-1), Barry Whelahan (0-1); Gary Hanniffy (capt. 1-0), Rory Hanniffy (0-1), Brendan Murphy (0-1); Brian Carroll (0-2), Joe Brady, Damien Murray (0-4). Subs.: Neville Coughlan for Brian Whelahan inj (45 mins), Stephen Brown for B Carroll (62 mins) and Dylan Hayden for J Brady (65 mins).

Wexford: Damien Fitzhenry; Malachy Travers, Darragh Ryan, David O’Connor; Rory McCarthy, Declan Ruth, John O’Connor (capt.); Adrian Fenlon (0-1), Tomas Mahon; Paul Carley (1-1), Eoin Quigley (0-3), Barry Lambert (0-3); Micheal Jordan, Michael Jacob (1-0), Rory Jacob (0-2). Subs.: Paul Codd (0-2) for B Lambert (44 mins) and Chris McGrath for M Jordan (57 mins).

2002 Leinster SHC S-Final

Wexford 0-16

Offaly 1-12

Offaly went down by the narrowest of margins to Wexford in 2002 despite going to the break with a lead of 1-10 to 0-6.

In the second-half the physically stronger Wexford men slowly ground down the Offaly challenge and the departure of Michael Cordial after taking a knock to the head, had a huge bearing on the outcome. Offaly only scored two point in the second-half as Wexford kept chipping.

Wexford drew level in the 67th minute, courtesy of a monster Codd free from inside his own ‘65’ and the winning point came from substitute Michael Jacob in the 68th minute. There was still a chance for Offaly to rescue the game but a late Brian Carroll free tailed wide.

Wexford - David Fitzhenry 0-1, Colm Kehoe, David O’Connor, Kevin Rossiter; Darren Stamp, Declan Ruth, Liam Dunne, Adrian Fenlon, Rory McCarthy 0-1; Michael Jordan 0-2, Dave Berry, Barry Goff 0-1; Barry Lambert, Paul Codd (0-7, 4f 2 ‘65s’), Rory Jacob 0-2. Subs: Chris McGrath 0-1 for Lambert (35mins), T Mahon for Fenlon (44mins), M Jacob 0-1 for Goff (46mins), MJ Furlong for Berry (64mins).

Offaly - Brian Mullins; Mick O’Hara, Ger Oakley, David Franks; Joe Brady, Brian Whelahan 0-2f, Colm Cassidy; Michael Cordial 0-2, Barry Whelahan 0-1; Rory Hanniffy 1-1, Gary Hanniffy 0-2, Neville Coughlan; Brian Carroll 0-2, Joe Errity, Damien Murray 0-2f. Subs: Simon Whelahan for Coughlan (46), Stephen Brown for Cordial (60mins), Stephen Weir for Murray (64mins).