Rhode prove too strong for Naomh Molaoise in Ladies Football Championship

editorial image


The third round of the Senior Championship took place on Friday evening in Ballycommon. Rhode and Naomh Molaoise clashed for the fourth time this year.

Hugh Lynch Ladies Senior Football Championship


They met three times in the League earlier in the year with the Rhode girls winning two out of the three of the games and they defeated Naomh Molaoise in the League Final after extra time.

This was their first meeting in the championship and Rhode came away with a comprehensive win.

Rhode took control of this game from the start with their county players shinning through and led at half time on a 4-3 to 0-5 scoreline.

The second half started much the same as the first half ended with Rhode taking their scoring chances. Naomh Molaoise had their chances throughout the game but were not on form and kick wide after wide. Rhode coming away with a well deserved win by 5-10 to 0-9.

We would like to extend our appreciation to Ballcommon GAA for the use of their facilities. St, Rynagh’s v Edenderry game will take on August 15, due to Camogie and the All Ireland Championships.


Rhode: Leanne Galvin, Martina Russell. Oonagh Mulligan, Evelyn Russell, Aoife Byrne (0-1), Hannah McMahon, Katie Killeen, Amy Kerrigan, Emma Dalton, Martina Darby (0-1), Therese Hickey (1-1), Niamh Mooney (1-0), Nicki Feery (1-1), Orlaigh Heavey (1-3), Niamh Malone (0-2), Colleen Molloy (0-1) for Niamh Malone (inj), Mary Kerrigan (0-1) for Emma Dalton (inj), Emma Kerrigan for Nicki Feery, Emma Killeen for Katie Killeen, Aishling Byrne, Cliona Molloy, Emma Scally, Hayleigh Stone, Laureen Dunne.

Naomh Molaoise: Evelyn Browne, Shauna Cuskeel, Shauna McGarrigle, Chrissie Cocoman, Noelle Cocoman, Catherine Bennett, Shauna O’ Meara, Aoife Norris, Orla Brennan, Ciara Galvin, Brenda Betson (0-3), Laureen Keenan (0-1), Roisin Keenan, Emma Cuddy (0-2), Tara Roe (0-1), Sarah O’ Rourke (0-2) for Tara Roe (inj), Paula Harte for Shauna Cuskelly.


Referee: Paul Jordan.

Junior Championship Results: Naomh Ciaran 3-10 Clara 1-6; Tullamore 2-9 Shamrock’s 2-4.