07 Dec 2021

Ard Scoil Chiaran claim North Leinster title

Ard Scoil Chiaran Junior Footballers won the North Leinster Junior Football Final when they beat Bush PP on a score line of 1-18 to 1-8.

Ard Scoil Chiaran Junior Footballers won the North Leinster Junior Football Final when they beat Bush PP on a score line of 1-18 to 1-8.

Ard Scoil Chiaran 1-18

Bush PP 1-8


Ard Scoil started well scoring the opening three points with scores coming from Martin Fleming, Colm Doyle and Luke Dignam before Bush PP struck back to level the match with a goal.

Two Ard Scoil points from a Luke Dignam free and Martin Fleming gave the Clara school the lead again.

Bush PP responded with a point but then Ard Scoil then scored four points in as many minutes with scores coming from a Luke Dignam free, two points from Martin Fleming and a point from Stephen Buckley to leave them with a lead of 0-9 to 1-1 after 12 minutes.

The defence performing very well at this stage as well with very little finding its way past Dermot Doolin, Carl Stewart and Colm Doyle.

Anything that did find its way near the goal was been well taken care of by our full back line of Kieran Hartnett, captain Alan Gavin and Ryan Kelly.

In the next 15 minutes very little happened with both teams scoring two points, the Ard Scoil points coming from two Luke Dignam frees to leave them leading by 0-11 to 1-3 entering the last five minutes of the half.

Goalkeeper Wesley Johnson pulled off a couple of good saves in the last few minutes of the half when Bush PP threatened to come back into it. However before the break Ard Scoil struck a decisive blow when Stephen Buckley finished the half with a well taken goal to leave the half time score Ard Scoil Chiaran 1-11, Bush PP 1-3.
The two teams came out in the second half and traded points with Ard Scoil’s points coming from Seamus O’Brien and Luke.

In the next 15 minutes, the sides added just one point each, the Ard Scoil point coming from a free from Luke Dignam.

Bush only added one further point for the rest of the game with Wesley Johnson continuing to play well in the goal and the back line not letting a whole lot get past them.

Further Ard Scoil points from Stephen Buckley and Josh McCloskey left Ard Scoil leading on a score line of 1-16 to1-7 entering the last five minutes of the game.

Bush then scored their last point of the match and Ard Scoil closed out the game with a point from Luke Dignam and the last score of the game from sub Gavin Fennessy.

The referee then blew the final whistle and Ard Scoil Chiaran ran out deserving winners on a score line of 1-18 to 1-8. Captain Alan Gavin then received the trophy from Tom O’Donnell Leinster Schools Representative.

Ard Scoil Chiaran Panel: Wesley Johnson, Kieran Hartnett, Alan Gavin(Capt), Ryan Kelly, Dermot Doolin, Carl Stewart, Colm Doyle, Martin Fleming, Stephen Buckley, George Robbins, Luke Dignam, Josh Kearney, Josh McCloskey, Seamus O’Brien, Jamie Monaghan, Ciarán Doyle, Conor Egan, Mark Newman, Callum Egan and Gavin Fennessy. Team Management: Brian Gavin, Larry Lynam, Michael Mullen and Joey Deehan

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.