24 May 2022

Offaly GAA championship draws made

Offaly GAA championship draws made

Conor Clancy with the Sean Robbins Cup last year.

THE draws for the group stages of most of the 2022 Offaly GAA adult championships were made at a County Board meeting on Monday evening.

The draws for the Senior, Senior B (there was no draw required for hurling as the six teams are in one group), Intermediate and Junior Football and Hurling Championships were made while the draws for the U-20 and junior “B” competitions will be made by the Competitions Control Committee later this week.

The draws are:

Senior Hurling Championship

Group 1 St Rynagh's, Kilcormac-Killoughey, Birr, Kinnitty, Clodiagh Gaels; Group 2 Coolderry, Shinrone, Ballinamere, Belmont, Seir Kieran.

Senior Football Championship

Group 1 Tullamore, Ferbane, Shamrocks, Cappincur; Group 2 Rhode, Durrow, Edenderry, Clara.

Senior “B” Hurling Championship

Group – Clara, Kilcormac-Killoughey, Lusmagh, Tullamore, Birr, Drumcullen.

Senior “B” Football Championship

Group 1 Tubber, Walsh Island, Erin Rovers, Clonbullogue; Group 2 Bracknagh, Ballycumber, St Rynagh's, Gracefield.

Intermediate Hurling Championship

Group 1 Shinrone, St Rynagh's, Belmont, Coolderry; Group 2 Shamrocks, Carrig and Riverstown, Seir Kieran, Brosna Gaels.

Intermediate Football Championship

Group 1 Raheen, Clodiagh Gaels, St Rynagh's, Tullamore; Group 2 Ferbane, Daingean, Shannonbridge, Ballycommon.

Junior Hurling Championship

Group 1 Kinnitty, Kilcormac-Killoughey, Coolderry, Carrig and Riverstown, Ballyskenagh-Killavilla, Shamrocks; Group 2 Ballinamere, Tullamore, Gracefield, Clodiagh Gaels, Edenderry.

Junior Football Championship

Group 1 Kilcormac-Killoughey, Rhode, Tullamore, Durrow; Group 2 Edenderry, Doon, Ballinagar, Kilclonfert.

* With the exception of Senior “B” Hurling, the top team in each group goes into semi-finals, and the second and third team play off in two quarter-finals. In Senior “B” Hurling, the top four teams meet in two semi-finals. There is relegation play offs between the bottom team in his group, and the bottom two in senior “B” hurling. Seeding applied in all championships except senior “B” hurling with last year' finalists, semi-finalists and quarter-finalists in opposite groups. The clubs play the ones in their own group and they don't criss-cross like last year.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.